Committees

ASC Standing Committees

The members of ASC standing committees include ASC members and administrative staff members-at-large as appointed by the Chair. ASC representatives and administrative staff members-at-large are nominated or may self-nominate to serve on ASC standing committees. The Chair of ASC shall appoint a chair for each standing committee from the ASC membership. Duties and responsibilities of each ASC standing committee are listed as follows:

  • Amendments & Policies Committee - The responsibility of this committee is to initiate and receive proposed amendments to the Charter or Bylaws and to report to ASC on all proposed amendments. This committee will annually review the ASC Charter, Bylaws, and Handbook for accuracy of content and will propose revisions as necessary. This committee will be responsible for understanding the Charter and Bylaws so as to serve as a policy resource to the Chair or Co-Chairs and officers as well as ASC representatives. The Amendments Committee is responsible for recording and maintaining a history of ASC Charter, Bylaws, and Handbook amendments as well as BGSU policy changes affecting administrative staff. Each May the complete history of record will be submitted to the ASC Secretary or Co-Secretaries for archiving.
 
  • Awards & Recognition Committee - This committee is to develop and recommend to ASC ways to recognize administrative staff for their outstanding achievements. The committee also will handle all responsibilities associated with the planning, advertisement, selection, and presentation of all ASC-sponsored awards and recognition including the annual awards reception and monthly award presentations. Committee members will have been employed by the University for at least three years.
  • Outreach & Activities Committee – This committee is responsible for planning and implementing social activities to engage administrative staff and planning and implementing charitable and other external events to promote administrative staff engagement with the community external to BGSU. This committee does not participate in planning the ASC annual awards reception.
  • Personnel/Welfare & Compensation Committee - This committee is to review, study, and recommend Council action on matters involving general salary policies, benefits, performance, evaluation, and policies and procedures that affect the functioning of administrative staff in their positions. The committee will conduct an annual salary market comparison, work with Human Resources on wage and compensation-related issues, proactively review current compensation policies, and yearly review the Administrative Staff Handbook for possible required revisions of outdated policies and procedures relative to current university practices.
  • Professional Development Committee - This committee is charged with aiding and encouraging the professional growth and development of administrative staff. It will study and recommend action with regard to professional leaves, continuing education and recognition of professional achievement.
  • Student Scholarship Committee -The responsibility of this committee is to administer all aspects of the administrative staff student scholarship program. This committee conducts fund-raising activities and implements and awards scholarships for the student scholarship program.
2019-2020 Amendments & Policies Committee
Victor Senn vsenn@bgsu.edu
Adam Arthur aarthur@bgsu.edu
Sherri Sherock ssheroc@bgsu.edu
Andrea Boehme - Chair andboeh@bgsu.edu
Dennis Voss dvoss@bgsu.edu
2019-2020 Awards & Recognition Committee
Cordula Mora - Tri-Chair cmora@bgsu.edu
Emily Gattozzi emilydg@bgsu.edu
Jacquie Nelson - Tri-Chair jgnelso@bgsu.edu
Taylor Jefferson tjeffer@bgsu.edu
Lona Leck - Tri-Chair lona@bgsu.edu
Cindy Valentine valentc@bgsu.edu
Teresa Earl tearl@bgsu.edu
Beth Ralph eralph@bgsu.edu
2019-2020 Outreach & Activities Committee
Willl Burns wburns@bgsu.edu
Teri Gentry - Co-Chair tgentry@bgsu.edu
Meghan Horn - Co-Chair hornm@bgsu.edu
Sharon McIntosh sharonm@bgsu.edu
Lily Young layoung@bgsu.edu
Kristi Peiffer kdhafer@bgsu.edu
Kari Storm stormkj@bgsu.edu
Terra Cramer terrajc@bgsu.edu
2019-2020 Personnel Welfare & Compensation Committee
Sophia Jackson - Co-Chair ssjacks@bgsu.edu
Stephanie Brinkman - Co-Chair ssavoyb@bgsu.edu
Travis Sheaffer traviss@bgsu.edu
Jennifer Sayre sayrej@bgsu.edu
Gabe Dunbar gdunbar@bgsu.edu
2019-2020 Professional Development Committee
Becky Cogswell bcogswel@bgsu.edu
Leslie Galan - Chair lgalan@bgsu.edu
Lucas Miller lucasam@bgsu.edu
Stephanie Dalmacio sdalmac@bgsu.edu
Jennifer Twu ltwu@bgsu.edu
2019-2020 Student Scholarships Committee
Emily Garcia - Co-Chair emilykg@bgsu.edu
Jenna Pollock jpolloc@bgsu.edu
Beth Ash ashb@bgsu.edu
Maite Hall - Co-Chair myhall@bgsu.edu
Margo Kammeyer margok@bgsu.edu
Jenifer St. Louis jstloui@bgsu.edu

University Standing Committees

Administrative staff elected to University standing committees need not be ASC representatives and are elected by the entire administrative staff. Committees include Equal Opportunity Compliance, Health, Wellness and Insurance and Information Technology.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVE(S) TERM
Equal Opportunity Compliance Emily Garcia 2019-2022
Equal Opportunity Compliance Sophia Jackson 2019-2022
President's Advisory Council on Health, Wellness, and Insurance Jason Hartigan 2017-2020
President's Advisory Council on Health, Wellness, and Insurance Emily Barnes-Hanna 2018-2021
President's Advisory Council on Health, Wellness, and Insurance Jaime Spradlin 2018-2021
CIO Advisory Jeremy Joseph 2019-2022
CIO Advisory Meghan Horn 2018-2021
CIO Advisory Mary Ellen Kellow 2018-2021
CIO Advisory Angela McCutcheon 2019-2022
Information Technology Dennis Voss 2019-2022
Library Advisory Kim Fleshman 2017-2020
Public Safety Jordan Cravens 2017-2020
University Council Rebecca Lyons 2019-2020
Professional Affairs Tom Daniels 2017-2020

Ad Hoc Committees

ASC ad hoc committees are created by the Executive Committee, which appoints members. These members need not be ASC representatives. After two years, an ASC ad hoc committee either ceases to function or becomes a standing committee, through action of the Amendments Committee. For more detailed information about committees, refer to the Bylaws, Appendix A of the Administrative Staff Handbook.