Equal Opportunity Compliance Committee


To represent the University community (faculty, administrative staff, classified staff, graduate students and undergraduate students) in matters relating to the affirmative action program.


  1. Review policy matters relative to the Affirmative Action Program;
  2. Advise the Director of Affirmative Action;
  3. Act as a link between the University community and the Office of Affirmative Action.


  • Three elected faculty members;
  • One additional faculty member in first four years appointed by the Committee on Committees for a one-year term;
  • Two administrative staff members elected by the administrative staff for three-year terms;
  • Two classified staff members elected by classified staff for three-year terms;
  • One undergraduate student appointed by the USG for a one-year term;
  • One graduate student appointed by the GSS for a one-year term.


  • The Director of Affirmative Action


The Chair shall be elected from among the faculty, administrative staff and classified staff members.


If, as result of the process used, at least one minority person and one woman are not selected, the Committee on Committees will appoint additional members to provide for their representation. The three elected faculty members must be eligible for election to Faculty Senate (Academic Charter, Article V.B.)


The committee shall hold regular meetings which are open to the public and shall distribute minutes of each meeting to all areas and departments of the University.


All elected, appointed and ex officio members have full voting rights. Consultants are non-voting members. (Academic Charter, Article V.B.)