Faculty & Staff

All faculty and staff in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics have offices on the fourth floor of the Mathematical Sciences Building (MSC). Pictures, offices, phone numbers, Email addresses and other information are listed below. Office phones have voicemail. For location assistance, see the fourth floor plan. They may also be reached by calling the Department Office (419-372-2636) and leaving a message.

  • Faculty List
  • Instructors and Visiting Faculty
  • Staff

A separate page describes Faculty Research and Selected Publications.

Click on image for individual web pages, where available.

Faculty

Rachel Barnett

Barnett, Rachel

Position: Adjunct Instructor
Phone: 419-372-7459
Email: barnetr@bgsu.edu
Address: 431 MSC

Dr. Juan Bes

Bes, Juan Ph.D., Kent State University

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7473
Email: jbes@bgsu.edu
Address: 421 MSC

Operator theory, Functional Analysis and Function theory

Lada Carlisle

Carlisle, Lada

Position: Assistant Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-2207
Email: ycarlis@bgsu.edu
Address: 431 MSC

Dr. Kit Chan

Chan, Kit Ph.D., University of Michigan

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7468
Email: kchan@bgsu.edu
Address: 415 MSC

Functional analysis, function theory

Dr. Chan's website

Dr. Hanfeng Chen

Chen, Hanfeng Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7463
Email: hchen@bgsu.edu
Address: 423 MSC

Data analysis,statistical inference

Dr. John Chen

Chen, John Ph.D., University of Sydney

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7461
Email: jchen@bgsu.edu
Address: 428 MSC

Probability, biostatistics

Dr. So-Hsiang Chou

Chou, So-Hsiang Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-8225
Email: chou@bgsu.edu
Address: 412 MSC

Numerical analysis, fluid mechanics

Dr. Chou's website

Ann Darke

Darke, Ann

Position: Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-7458
Email: darkea@bgsu.edu
Address: 411 MSC

Dr. Daria Filippova

Filippova, Daria, Ph.D., Bowling Green State University

Position: Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-7451
Email: dariaf@bgsu.edu
Address: 434 MSC

Irina Franke

Franke, Irina

Position: Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-6651
Email: ifranke@bgsu.edu
Address: 441 MSC

Riddhi Ghosh

Ghosh, Riddhi Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-6079
Email: rpghosh@bgsu.edu
Address: 432 MSC

Bayesian Statistics, Covariance matrix modeling and estimation, High Dimensional Data, correlated data, longitudinal data, missing data

Michelle Heckman

Heckman, Michelle

Position: Associate Teaching Professor/Math Emporium Director
Phone: 419-372-1028
Email: mheckma@bgsu.edu
Address: 439 MSC

Konra Holman

Holman, Konra

Position: Associate Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-7449
Email: konradh@bgsu.edu
Address: 410 MSC

Islambekov, Umar Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas, Ph.D., University of Arizona

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-7456
Email: iumar@bgsu.edu
Address: 407 MSC

Data science, topological data analysis

Jeremy Joseph

Joseph, Jeremy

Position: Adjunct instructor
Phone: 419-372-9129
Email: jjoseph@bgsu.edu
Address: 140 Jerome Library

Dr. David Meel

Meel, David E. Ed.D., University of Pittsburgh

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7452
Email: meel@bgsu.edu
Address: 414 MSC

Mathematics education

Dr. Meel's website

Christy Miller

Miller, Christina, Ph.D., Bowling Green State University

Position: Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-7997
Email: chrismm@bgsu.edu
Address: 424 MSC

Dr Diem Nguyen

Nguyen, Diem M. Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-4713
Email: dnguyen@bgsu.edu
Address: 420 MSC

Mathematics for communication & technology, e-learning

Dr. Nguyen's website

Dr. Wei Ning

Ning, Wei Ph.D., Syracuse University

Position: Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
Phone: 419-372-7462
Email: wning@bgsu.edu
Address: 409 MSC

Statistics

Dr. Ning's website

Dr. Kimberly Rogers

Rogers, Kimberly Ph.D, Michigan State University

Position: Associate Professor and Foundational Math Coordinator
Phone: 419-372-7450
Email: kcroger@bgsu.edu
Address: 408 MSC

Mathematics Education

Dr. Rogers's website

Dr. Maria Rizzo

Rizzo, Maria Ph.D., Bowling Green State University

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7474
Email: mrizzo@bgsu.edu
Address: 413 MSC

Actuarial science, statistics

Dr. Rizzo's website

Dr. Steve Seubert

Seubert, Steven M. Ph.D., University of Virginia

Position: Professor and Graduate Coordinator
Phone: 419-372-2179
Email: sseuber@bgsu.edu
Address: 435 MSC

Functional analysis, operator theory

Dr. Junfeng Shang

Shang, Junfeng Ph.D., University of Missouri

Position: Professor and Chair
Phone: 419-372-7457
Email: jshang@bgsu.edu
Address: 458 MSC

Dr. Mihai Staic

Staic, Mihai Ph.D. State University of New York at Buffalo

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-6657
Email: mstaic@bgsu.edu
Address: 426 MSC

Dr. Tong Sun

Sun, Tong Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Position: Professor and Assistant Chair
Phone: 419-372-7460
Email: tsun@bgsu.edu
Address: 436 MSC

Numerical analysis, scientific computations

Dr. Sun's website

blank-pic

Torio, Anthony

Position: Adjunct instructor
Phone: 419-372-2374
Email: atorio@bgsu.edu
Address: 418 MSC

Dr. Gordon Wade

Wade, J. Gordon Ph.D., Brown University

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-0240
Email: gwade@bgsu.edu
Address: 419 MSC

Applied mathematics, actuarial science

Dr. Wade's website

Dr.-Ben-Ward

Ward, Ben Ph.D., Purdue University

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-7472
Email: benward@bgsu.edu
Address: 427 MSC

Algebra, topology, operads, moduli spaces

blank-pic

Wilcox, Courtney

Position: Assistant Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-2820
Email: courtrw@bgsu.edu
Address: MSC 416

Dr. Xiangdong Xie

Xie, Xiangdong Ph.D., University of Utah

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-8317
Email: xiex@bgsu.edu
Address: 425 MSC

Geometric group theory, Geometric analysis

Dr. Xie's website

Xiaofen Zhang

Zhang, Xiaofen, Ph.D., Illinois State University

Position: Assistant Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-6656
Email: xiaofz@bgsu.edu
Address: MSC 437

Dr. Craig Zirbel

Zirbel, Craig L. Ph.D., Princeton University

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7466
Email: zirbel@bgsu.edu
Address: 438 MSC

Probability, stochastic processes, RNA bioinformatics

Dr. Zirbel's website

Sandra Zirkes

Zirkes, Sandra

Position: Teaching Professor
Phone: 419-372-2178
Email: szirkes@bgsu.edu
Address: 422 MSC

Staff

Amber Snyder

Snyder, Amber

Position: Administrative Assistant
Phone: 419-372-2638
Email: amber@bgsu.edu
Address: 456 MSC

missing-trustee-photo

Wakefield, Skyeler

Position: Graduate Secretary
Phone: 419-372-2637
Email: mathgradsecy@bgsu.edu
Address: 454 MSC