Ph.D. in Rhetoric & Writing Studies

Rhetoric & Writing PhD students Bailey Poland, Clay Chiarelott, Lena Ziegler, Travis Hein, and Brian Urias

Program Description

BGSU's doctoral program in Rhetoric and Writing Studies equips applicants with a broad range of skills whose interests in rhetoric and writing studies move them to seek careers as teacher-scholar-administrators at a variety of institutions of higher education. The program emphasizes rhetoric and composition/writing studies as its core curriculum and provides students with a thoroughgoing foundation in rhetorical theories and histories, composition theories and pedagogies, research methods and designs, digital rhetorics, program administration, as well as hands-on internship experiences. Special topics courses address current interests within the discipline, such as writing assessment, feminist methodologies, accessibility and inclusion, writing transfer, and sociocultural theory. In addition, students take electives in Rhetoric and Writing Studies, in other areas of English (critical theory and literature, teaching English to English language learners, scientific and technical communication), or in other departments. 


A picture of Morgan McDougall, a young woman smiling who is smiling while outside.

Morgan Elizabeth McDougall wins the Mick Doherty Kairos Award

Third-year Ph.D. candidate, Morgan McDougall, is the 2021 recipient of the Mick Doherty Kairos Award! 

The late Mick Doherty graduated from the Rhetoric & Writing Studies Program in 1994. The Mick Doherty Kairos Scholarship was established to help provide educational expenses for Graduate Assistants in the Rhetoric and Writing Doctoral Program of the Department of English at Bowling Green State University, in honor of his memory. Learn more about the award.

News and Stories

Charity Anderson on Senate Executive Committee

Charity Anderson, a Ph.D. student in the Rhetoric & Writing program, was elected as "Member at Large" for the Graduate Student Senate at BGSU for the 2021-2022 school year.

Morgan McDougall accepted on the CWPA Graduate Student Research Award Committee

Morgan McDougall, a student in the Ph.D. Rhetoric & Writing Studies program, is also on the CWPA Graduate Student Research Award Committee. She is the only graduate student on the committee; the other seven members are faculty affiliates at various institutions. The committee distributes a Call for Submissions for their Graduate Student Research Award across multiple platforms online. 

Krys Ingman Publishes Collaborated Paper

Krys Ingman, a student in the Ph.D. Rhetoric & Writing Studies program, published a collaborated paper, "At the intersection of mainstream and alternative media: Spygate and the Hannity rant," in the Journal of Communication Inquiry on September 24, 2020.