James W. Child Scholarship

Professor James W. Child taught at Bowling Green State University from the mid-1980s until his untimely death at the age of 64. He was a devoted father and husband who at various times in his life apprenticed as a blacksmith, drove race cars, practiced law and was the CEO of a medium-size manufacturing company. However, the study of philosophy and working with students were his first loves. He had a special knack for exciting students about the study of philosophy by directing their philosophical thinking to issues that arise in everyday life. His scholarly work addressed many different philosophical topics. He was perhaps best known for his work on the moral issues in nuclear deterrence and the Soviet – American cold-war confrontation during the second half of the 20 th century. For more information about James W Child, click here.

How to Qualify for the Scholarship

To be eligible for the James W. Child Outstanding Senior Philosophy Major Scholarship students must:

  • be a rising senior with a declared major in philosophy;
  • earn a 2.5 GPA or better in philosophy and overall;
  • demonstrate involvement in philosophy extracurricular activities such as Philosophy Club, Ethics Bowl, or other department committees and activities;
  • exercise community service through volunteer work;
  • submit a one-page statement describing their qualifications for the scholarship.

Preference is given to students with outstanding academic records.

Selection Process

Three nominees are named by the Undergraduate Advisor with input from the department faculty. Selection of the scholarship recipient is made by the Department Chair with input from the donors based upon academic performance, involvement in department life, and community service.

James W. Child Scholarship Winners

2012-13: Miles McKee
2013-14: Darrell White
2014-15: Jacob Moore
2015-16: Cameron Morrissey
2016-17: Derek Kirwan
2017-18: Kristy Atanasov
2018-19: December Anderson
2019-20: Kevin Michel
2020-21: Malcolm Anderson
2021-22: Lydia Applin
2022-23: Natalie Beaverson

Updated: 05/10/2022 01:54PM