Faculty and Staff


Jeff Carroll (PhD, Virginia)

Position: Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Social and Political Philosophy; Philosophy, Politics, and Economics (PPE)
Email: jcarro@bgsu.edu
Address: 308 Shatzel Hall

Christian Coons (PhD, UC-Davis)

Position: Associate Professor of Philosophy

Ethical Theory, Axiology, Metaethics
Phone: (419) 372-2404
Email: clcoons@bgsu.edu
Address: 322 Shatzel Hall


Justin Donhauser (PhD, Buffalo)

Position: Assistant Teaching Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies; Director of the Institute for Ethics & Society

Applied Philosophy of Science, Environmental Ethics, Metaphysics
Phone: 419-372-7216
Email: jdonhau@bgsu.edu
Address: 314 Shatzel Hall


Albert Dzur (PhD, UNC-Chapel Hill)

Position: Professor, Joint Appointment (Political Science & Philosophy)
Phone: (419) 372-7270
Email: awdzur@bgsu.edu
Address: 111 Williams Hall
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403


Hrishikesh Joshi (PhD, Princeton)

Position: Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Moral Philosophy, Political Philosophy, PPEL (Philosophy, Politics, Economics, Law)
Phone: (419) 372-3561
Email: joshih@bgsu.edu
Address: 306 Shatzel Hall


Kevin Vallier (PhD, Arizona)

Position: Associate Professor of Philosophy

Director of the Philosophy Politics, Economics and Law (PPEL) program

Areas of Research: Political Philosophy, Ethics, Political Economy, Philosophy of Religion
Phone: (419) 372-7221
Email: kvallie@bgsu.edu
Address: 310 Shatzel Hall


Brandon Warmke (PhD, Arizona)

Position: Associate Professor of Philosophy; Director of Graduate Admissions; Placement Director

Ethics, Moral Psychology, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy
Phone: (419) 372-7142
Email: bwarmke@bgsu.edu
Address: 311 Shatzel Hall


Michael Weber (PhD, Michigan)

Position: Chair; Professor of Philosophy

Ethics, Political Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Economics
Phone: (419) 372-7209
Email: meweber@bgsu.edu
Address: 307 Shatzel Hall


Sara Worley (PhD, Pittsburgh)

Position: Associate Professor of Philosophy; Director of Graduate Studies

Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Psychiatry
Phone: (419) 372-2899
Email: sworley@bgnet.bgsu.edu
Address: 315 Shatzel Hall


Ian Young (PhD, Bowling Green)

Position: Teaching Professor

Political Philosophy, Applied Ethics
Phone: (419) 372-9365
Email: iyoung@bgsu.edu
Address: 309 Shatzel Hall

Administrative Staff


TiMikko Sanders

Position: Senior Secretary
Phone: 419-372-2117
Email: phildept@bgsu.edu
Address: 305 Shatzel Hall

TiMikko began her journey at BGSU in 2018 with the Counseling Center. Before joining the Philosophy Department in 2021, she also worked in the Undergraduate Student Development Office for the College of Business.

Emeritus Faculty

George Agich (PhD, Texas): agichg@falcon.bgsu.edu
Thomas Attig (PhD, Washington University)
Richard Lineback (PhD, Indiana)
Fred Miller (PhD, University of Washington): fmiller@bgnet.bgsu.edu
James Stewart (PhD, Cincinnati)

Louis Katzner (PhD, Michigan): lkatzne@bgsu.edu