State and National Awards

Women of Distinction Award Ceremony 2023

The C. Raymond Marvin Center for Student Leadership & Civic Engagement manages the nomination process for a broad range of State and National Awards recognizing the work of Alumni, Faculty and Staff, and Students.

The Newman Civic Fellowship recognizes and supports community-committed students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country.  The fellowship, named for Campus Compact founder Frank Newman, provides training and resources that nurture students' assets and passions to help them develop strategies to achieve social change.  Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides learning opportunities focused on the skills fellows need in order to serve as effective agents of change in addressing public problems and building equitable communities.

  • The fellowship is a one-year experience for students in which fellows have access to in-person and virtual learning opportunities, networking events, and mentoring.
  • While the fellowship experience is limited to one year, participants in the Newman Civic Fellowship are invited to join a national network of community-committed peers and to enter into a long-term community of Newman Civic Fellows.
  • Fellows are selected in the spring each year; the fellowship term begins the following academic year.
  • Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award – Recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career if not in a tenure-line) each year for their exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.  
  • David Hoch Memorial Award – Honors the outstanding work in service-learning and/or civic engagement performed by a faculty or staff member at an Ohio Campus Compact member institution.

The nomination process for BGSU is managed by the C. Raymond Marvin Center for Student Leadership and Civic Engagement.

The award is designed to recognize and honor undergraduate students for their outstanding leadership and contributions to community service or service-learning on their campus and within their community. These students represent the next generation of civic leaders and problem solvers.  

The award is named in honor of Charles J. Ping, who served as President of Ohio University from 1975 – 1994.  An early supporter and Board Member of Ohio Campus Compact, Ping was a tireless advocate for campus-community partnerships and increased opportunities for students to become active and engaged citizens.   

One undergraduate student from each Ohio Campus Compact member institution is eligible to receive this annual award.

Nominees should meet the following criteria:
This award recognizes students for individual commitment to service and the community, the ability to lead and to involve others.  Evidence of overall exemplary community service, service-learning, or community-based research during his/her/their time on campus should be showcased in the nomination.

Nominations should reflect any of the following:
•Any curricular-based service-learning or community-based research should reflect the student’s primary area of study.
•Service performed above and beyond that required of a service-learning class must be illustrated.
•Any one-day service events (for which the student is being nominated) are designed to address a community need, involve innovation and must incorporate plans for sustainability or continuity in the future. 

To nominate a BGSU student as a candidate for this award please submit the form below.  

  • 20 under 40 – Recognizes community leaders – all under 40 - in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan.  

Updated: 01/24/2024 11:47AM