Ray Marvin Leadership Award


The C. Raymond Marvin Center for Student Leadership and Civic Engagement is pleased to announce the Ray Marvin Leadership Award to recognize the leadership contributions of BGSU students.

Applications open in November.

Award Selection Criteria: BGSU undergraduate students who have completed 30 credit hours are eligible to apply for this award. Candidates will be asked to demonstrate, through their application, how they have developed and demonstrated their leadership while a student at BGSU. All applications will be reviewed and ranked by a committee. Selected candidates will then complete an in-person interview with the selection committee. The Ray Marvin Leadership Awards will recognize students for leadership development and contributions since becoming a student at BGSU.

Student Eligibility: To be eligible for a Ray Marvin Leadership Award, you must meet the following minimum criteria:

* Have completed a minimum of 30 credit hours

* Demonstrate a minimum overall GPA of 2.75

* Special consideration will be given to students that have completed the BGSU Leadership Achievement Award

Who is Ray Marvin?

C. Raymond Marvin is a private investor in the telecommunications field. He graduated from Bowling Green State University in Liberal Arts in 1960 and from the University of Michigan School of Law in 1963.  In 2017, he was awarded an honorary doctorate of liberal arts from Bowling Green State University. 

While a student at BGSU, Ray was a member of SICSIC, Omicron Delta Kappa, Falcon Marching Band, Forensics Team, Student Council, and Phi Delta Theta fraternity. 

Learn more about Ray Marvin


Xavi Boes
Giovonni Colantonio
Cali Vaughn


Harrison Carter
Drew Banziger
Hallie Cunningham
Brenden Dean
Kasandra Fager
Nathan Halm
Kayla Kindle
Molly Marody
Leila Oswalt
Remington Schneider
Alyssa Tomins


Madelynn Andrews
Drew Banziger
Olive Bartholomew
Allison Benbow
Xavi Boes
Janelle Bollheimer
Harrison Carter
Kelsey Dietrich
Kathryn Fassih
Estee Miller
Remington Schneider
Cali Vaughn


Hannah Finnerty
Alanna Meadows
Hannah Cubberley
Madeline Baumle
Leigh Dunewood


Eric Minus
Maison DeWalt
Caroline Inkrott
Phillip Rich
Sanjhi Gandhi

Ray Marvin Winners 2017 

Amy Holthaus
Austin Gilbert
Christopher Carter
Matthew Henkes
Shelbi Lindesmith

2015-2016 winners


Katherine Webb
Austin Flores
Drew Ashby-King
Ebonee Johnson
Jayna Clemens


Alison Brousseau
Jenna Grimes
Kelly Largent
Collin Newton
Leslie Potts
Emily Skibski
Ashlynn Wardle

2014-2015 winners


Scott Brummel
Adriana Darris
Celeste Smith
Jessica Gregor


Darrico Harris
Christian Cash
Gregory Harrison
Bria Johnson
Jarod Rose
Alexa Woodburn

2013-2014 winners


Michael Reilly
Kevin Lewis
Brandon Swope 


Jodie Brand
Hannah Burkhart
Kassie Cooper
Jessee Hankins
Jennifer Kane
Alex Koons
Corey Smetana



Luke Grabski
Meresa McKesson
Samantha Kirsch


Jessica Alt
Adriana Darris
Andrew Hayes
Michael Reilly
Bryant Sheppard


Lauren Purdy
Shawn Gilbert
Erin Porter


Michael Reilly
Bryant Sheppard
Cassandra Utt
Nikia Washington


Chrissy Daniel
Heather Utsler
Daniel Caldwell


Erin Porter
Brionna Powell
Skyler Rogers
Haleigh Sinkewich

Updated: 06/03/2022 06:35PM