Apply for a Scholarship


State Farm Insurance Good Neighbor Safety Grant

May & October Fire School

BGSU State Fire School is pending the Good Neighbor Safety grant from State Farm Insurance.  State Farm developed these grants to help build safer, stronger and better educated communities across the United States and Canada. Through their company grants, we focus on three areas: safety, community development, and education.

The grant money will be used to cover course fees to attend our May & October Fire School. Student housing, course equipment or books will not be covered.  If you are interested in applying for this scholarship, please complete the attached application and return it to us by August 19th for October Fire School.  We will award the grants by the first of the month following the deadline. Winners will be notified by email and phone.

All scholarship applications are due by August 19 for October Fire School.

*Applicants must submit a registration form with scholarship application to guarantee a seat in the class.

Zimmerman-Markley Community Service Award

This award was established in 2007 by the Zimmerman family to honor their parents Ralph and Helen (Markley) Zimmerman, both of whom were active volunteers in their community, supporting the volunteer fire service. This Community Service Award was established to assist fire and rescue service volunteers located in Miami and Champaign counties, with preferences given to the Christiansburg Volunteer Fire Department, Casstown Volunteer Fire Department and the St. Paris Volunteer Fire Department. Multiple awards may be granted annually to a qualified member of these departments.

Applications are reviewed for eligibility based on criteria and then by date received.

state farm logo
Companies Foundation

State Farm Insurance Good Neighbor Safety Grant Application (PDF)

Updated: 01/31/2023 11:41AM