Board of Trustees

The Bowling Green State University Board of Trustees is comprised of nine members, plus two nonvoting students and three National Trustees, appointed by the governor of Ohio with the advice and consent of the Senate. National trustees allow the University to take advantage of the talents, resources and experiences of alumni who do not live in Ohio. Trustees are appointed to nine-year terms of office; student trustees are appointed to two-year terms of office. National trustees serve thee-year terms and are eligible for appointment to two consecutive terms.

By law, the Board of Trustees is responsible for the organization, administration and operation of BGSU. The Board of Trustees:

  • establishes and monitors the execution of policy that guides the administration in the day-to-day operations of the University
  • selects a president, and on his or her advice, a staff to administer the policy
  • supports the efforts of the President and the staff in relation to the Ohio Department of Higher Education, members of the state legislature and state officials.

The BGSU Board of Trustees is also charged with working with the president to ensure that the University focuses on contributing to the public good and embraces its role as a national model in addressing the educational, economic and social vitality of our region, the state, the nation and the world.

For additional information regarding the BGSU Board of Trustees, please contact Dr. Patrick Pauken, Secretary to the Board of Trustees at or Laurel Zawodny, Executive Assistant to the President, at

Bylaws of the Board of Trustees

Updated: 07/27/2022 03:29PM