Philharmonia, Men’s Chorus to perform at Ohio music educators’ conference 

Excellent opportunity for BGSU alumni to support, celebrate the College of Musical Arts

Bowling Green State University’s College of Musical Arts will have a large presence at the Ohio Music Education Association (OMEA) Professional Development Conference, Jan. 31- Feb. 2 in Cleveland. Both the Men’s Chorus and the BG Philharmonia have been invited to perform, a prestigious honor for both groups and an excellent opportunity for BGSU alumni to support and celebrate the College of Musical Arts. 


Conductor and Music Director Dr. Emily Freeman Brown will lead the orchestra in a program titled “Celebrating 100 Years of Orchestras at BGSU: The BG Philharmonia presents Stravinsky's ‘Petrouchka’” on at 11 a.m. Feb. 1 at the Cleveland Convention Center Grand Ballroom. The performance is one of several special events the Philharmonia will participate in during its yearlong anniversary celebration.

Also that day, the BGSU Men’s Chorus will perform at 3:30 p.m. at the Hilton Hope Ballroom at the Hilton Cleveland Downtown. Dr. Richard Schnipke, assistant professor of conducting, will conduct the chorus with graduate assistant conductor Joshua Dufford in a unique performance themed “We Are All Sons.” The program will include pieces from Craig Hella Johnson’s oratorio “Considering Matthew Shepard,” plus a traditional Shaker hymn, an African American spiritual and other short songs. 

Following the performance, the College of Musical Arts, in collaboration with the BGSU alumni office, will host an alumni reception from 6:15 to 7:45 p.m. in the same space.

Also at the conference, CMA faculty members will participate in a workshop titled “One Size Does Not Fit All: Meaningful and Effective Professional Development for Music Educators,” and a separate panel titled “Raise Your Voice: Tips and Techniques for Student Singers.” 

OMEA will continue the tradition of honoring a member with the Young Music Educator of the Year award. A BGSU graduate has been the recipient of the award every year since its inception in 2014. This year’s winner will be announced at the conference.   

Updated: 02/04/2019 01:10PM