The Department of History at Bowling Green State University annually recognizes outstanding performances of graduate students as educators, researchers, and departmental citizens. The department awards are:

Lawrence Freidman Award for Outstanding Dissertation: 

A faculty panel considers the research output of Doctoral candidates and rewards a department-wide Outstanding Dissertation Award. The process also serves to distinguish the department's submission to the BGSU-wide dissertation competition. 

The 2013 recipient was Steven Pedler, for his dissertation.

Outstanding Research Paper:

A faculty panel considers the research output of Master's and Doctoral students to determine the department-wide Outstanding Research Paper. This work is typically a seminar paper, written for a class during the same calendar year.

The 2013 recipient was Timothy Prindle.

Bernard Sternsher Award for Outstanding Teaching: 

 A faculty panel considers the educational output of student instructors to determine the department-wide Outstanding Teaching Award. The faculty consider course assignment, student evaluations, and their own audits of the instructor's course. The recipient is also entered into the university-wide award consideration. 

The 2013 recipient was Rex Childers. 

Outstanding Departmental Citizen:

A panel consisting of faculty and staff considers the contributions of Master's and Doctoral students to creating an environment conducive to learning and teaching. The department presents this award to the graduate student(s) who most clearly represents and demonstrates through actions the core values of service to the department, fostering community spirit, and a readiness to volunteer as needed. The award recognizes student achievement beyond the classroom to better foster the ideal of what it means to be an “outstanding departmental citizen.”

The 2013 recipient was Lisa Lamson

For previous winners, please click here .