Previous Graduate Awards

Lawrence Friedman Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award

Established in 1993 in honor of Dr. Lawrence J. Friedman, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of the Department of History. This award is given for outstanding graduate student research. The dissertation/thesis must be nominated in writing by the student’s mentor.

2021-2022    Austin Van Nest, “The Black American Press and WWI: The Intersection of Race, Democracy, and War: 1914-1919,”  

2020-2021     Everett King, “In the Shadow: Representations of the Stasi in Literature and Film from Cold War to Present”  

2019-2020    Jeremy Albrecht, “Rome and Folklore: An Analysis of Roman Foundational Mythology”

2019               Robert Carlock, “A New (Bowling Green State) University: Educational Activism, Social Change, and Campus Protest in the Long Sixties”

2018-2019      Kaysie Harrington

2017-2018       Michael Horton

2016-2017       Nanosh Lucas

2015-2016       Ethan Bowers

2014-2015       Jay Martin Perry

2013-2014       Christian M Lengyel

2012-2013       Steven Pedler

2011-2012       William S. Smith II

2010-2011       Michael Kithinji

2009-2010       George Griffin

2008-2009       Luke Nichter

2007-2008       Steven Pedler

2006-2007       David R. Haus

2005-2006       Donald C. Eberle

2004-2005       Michael Kimaid

2003-2004       C. Joseph Genetin-Pilawa

2002-2003       Robert S. Smith

2001-2002       James Buss

2000-2001       Lewie H. Reece

1996-1997       Tatyana A. Dumova

1995-1996       Jay C. Martin

1995-1996       William T. Allison

1993-1994       Deborah K. Scerbicke

Outstanding Public History Project

Established in 2021, this award recognizes the most outstanding Public History project that presents original historical research to a public audience.

2021-2022    Joshua Dubbert, “Stephen Foster, At Home in the 19th Century,”  

2020-2021      Katie Nowakowski, “Northwest Ohio Missions to Native American Settlements, 1800-1842“

Outstanding Graduate Seminar Paper 

Awarded to a graduate student that submits the best paper from a History class during the academic year (Spring, Summer, and Fall semesters). Beginning in 2020, this award recognizes students beyond their first 9 credit hours in the program.

2021-2022     Alexandra Gagyi, “’That Bewitching Vegetable:’ White Burley Tobacco Cultivation and Culture in 19th Century Southern Ohio”.      

2020-2021     Daniel Durkin, "Civil Defense in Northwest Ohio"

2019-2020     Jacob Mach, “‘And Through the Providence of God’: The Theology of Mary Rowlandson”

2018-2019      Rebekak Brown

2017-2018       Chris Lause, Rebekah Brown (Honorable Mention)

2016-2017       Nanosh Lucas

2015-2016       Joseph Lueck

2014-2015       Joseph Lueck

2013-2014       Chloe Koscheva-Scissons

2012-2013       Timothy Prindle

2011-2012        Kevin Moore

2010-2011        Kristen L. Dute

2009-2010      Gary A. Cirelli

2008-2009     Stephanie R. Gaskill

2007-2008      Shirley L. Green

2006-2007      Soren L. Fanning

2005-2006      Meredith Clark-Wiltz

2004-2005      John Ellis

Outstanding Graduate Seminar Paper, Junior Student  

Awarded to the best research paper from a History seminar from a student in their first 9 credit hours in the MA program.

2021-2022      Madison Stump-Smith, “Part of the Solution or Causing Pollution? Changes in Earth Day Practices at Bowling Green State University"

2020-2021      Alexandra Gagyi, “Quarrying Community: The Sandstone Industry’s Influence on Local Identity in Amherst, Ohio.”

2019-2020      Brittany VonKamp, “’A jewel of a theater:’” BGSU’s Gish Film Theater and the Renaming Controversy“

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Presented to the graduate student recognized as the outstanding teaching assistant in the Department of History.

2021-2022     Alexandra Gagyi               

2020-2021     Victoria TenEyck

2019-2020     Keith Lenhart

2018-2019      Robert Carlock

2017-2018       Kaysie Harrington

2016-2017       Alyssa Kapelka

2015-2016       Lindsey Bauman

2014-2015       Michael A. Ginnetti

2013-2014       Joe D. Faykosh

2012-2013       Rex A. Childers

2011-2012        Dustin C. McLochlin

2010-2011        Robert MacDonald

2009-2010      Alvin Dwayne Beggs, Soren Fanning

2008-2009     Shirley L. Green

2007-2008      Erin N. McKenna

2006-2007      James F. Rose

2005-2006      Maria Baldwin

2004-2005      Larry Cousineau

2003-2004      Matthew L. Daley

2002-2003      David R. Haus

2001-2002       Michael Kimaid

2000-2001      Robert S. Smith

1999-2000      G. Jack Benge

1998-1999       Matthew S. Young

1997-1998       Mary J. Farmer

1996-1997        Jeffrey S. Cole

1995-1996       Xin-Zhu J. Chen

1994-1995       Christina Ashby-Martin, Kevin Jones-Kern

1992-1993       William Remle, Jr.

1991-1992       William Allison, Deborah Scerbicke

Outstanding Departmental Citizen Award 

Presented to a graduate student for meritorious contributions to the Department of History.

2021-2022    Stephanie Bohnak

2020-2021     Robyn Perry

2019-2020     Julian Gillilan

2018-2019      Robert Carlock and Lee Slusher

2017-2018       Kyle Penzinski

2016-2017       Zack Burton

2015-2016       Joseph Lueck

2014-2015       Michael A. Ginnetti

2013-2014       Rachel C. Pawlowicz

2012-2013       Lisa Rose Lamson

2011-2012       Jay M. Perry, Joe D. Faykosh (Distinguished Service)

2010-2011       Joe D. Faykosh, William S. Smith II 

2009-2010       Joe D. Faykosh

2008-2009       Alvin Dwayne Beggs

Updated: 07/05/2022 01:14PM