Section 2.3



  • Size, Divisional Representation, and Terms
    • Nine members, elected by all full-time faculty.
    • One full professor, one associate professor, and one lecturer or senior lecturer from each of the three divisions of the college.
    • These members will serve two-year terms.
  • The chair of the PTRC rotates annually among the three divisions. All ranks are eligible to serve as chair. PTRC as a whole annually elects the chair from among the three members of the appropriate division.
  • To allow for 'staggered' terms, the members will be elected as follows:

Even Years
Professor, Arts & Humanities
Professor, Math & Natural Sciences
Associate Professor, Social Sciences
Lecturer/Senior Lecturer, Arts & Humanities
Lecturer/Senior Lecturer, Math & Natural Sciences

Odd Years
Professor,Professor, Social Sciences
Associate Professor, Arts & Humanities
Associate Professor, Math & Natural Sciences
Lecturer/Senior Lecturer, Social Sciences

  • To elect a divisional member to the PTRC, each academic unit of the division may nominate one nominee for each rank available for election from that division. Nominees must confirm that they are willing to serve the full two-year term on PTRC and that they will not be submitting a dossier for review during the two-year term that they serve on PTRC.  All full-time faculty in a division (including chairs) are eligible to vote on all nominees. The following restrictions apply:
    • PTRC members must be Bargaining Unit Faculty Members.
    • No probationary faculty, instructors, department chairs, school directors, assistant/associate deans, or administrators are eligible to stand for election as a representative to the PTRC. Faculty members whose primary faculty assignment is outside the College of Arts and Sciences are also ineligible for PTRC membership.
    • Members must be elected by a majority of those voting rather than by a plurality.
    • No individual may serve two successive terms.
    • No division may elect two successive tenured representatives from the same academic unit.
    • The PTRC may not have two members from the same academic unit.


PTRC serves as the “college-level review committee” specified in the Collective Bargaining Agreement, Article 14.  As such, PTRC reviews faculty dossiers submitted for:

  • non-tenure-track faculty enhanced performance reviews (Article 14,;
  • non-tenure-track promotion requests (Article 14,;
  • tenure-track mid-probationary enhanced performance reviews (Article 14,;
  • tenure-track tenure and/or promotion requests (Article 14, 6.5.4).

During this review:

  • All PTRC members participate in discussion of all files, regardless of rank.
  • Members vote on reappointment, promotion, and tenure to their own rank and below. Tenure-track faculty vote on non-tenure track cases.
  • PTRC members do not vote on reappointment, promotion, or tenure cases from their respective academic units.

Recommendations from the PTRC to the Dean are of three types: recommended for reappointment, promotion, and/or tenure; not recommended for reappointment, promotion, and/or tenure; and no recommendation (split). Such recommendations will be submitted in writing to the Dean.

The last changes in this document were recommended by A & S Council and approved by the full-time faculty of the College on February 15, 2017.