Faculty & Staff

As an interdisciplinary program, the American Culture Studies Program works with affiliated faculty from all across campus, while maintaining a strong number of core faculty. The ACS faculty is also assisted by the MA Executive Committee, the PhD Executive Committee, and the Advisory Committee.  


Andrew M. Schocket

Position: Director of American Culture Studies; Professor in History and American Culture Studies
Email: aschock@bgsu.edu

Dr. Schocket teaches required courses and special topics courses regularly for the ACS and History programs.

Read More


Radhika Gajjala

Position: Professor in American Culture Studies and Communication Studies
Email: radhik@bgsu.edu

Dr. Gajjala teaches courses in ACS that are often cross-listed Media and Communication and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.

Read More


Scott C. Martin

Position: Professor, History and American Cultural Studies; Chair, History
Email: smartin@bgsu.edu

Dr. Martin is the Director of the History Department and has a joint appointment with the ACS program, where he teaches required and special topics courses regularly.

Read More


Rebecca Kinney

Position: Associate Professor, School of Cultural and Critical Studies
Phone: 419-372-4378
Email: rkinney@bgsu.edu
Address: 108 East Hall

Dr. Kinney is an interdisciplinary teacher and scholar of race, place, and popular culture. She teaches courses on race and popular culture and qualitative research methods.

Read More


Jolie Sheffer

Position: Associate Professor, English and American Culture Studies
Email: jsheffe@bgsu.edu

Dr. Sheffer teaches courses in English that are cross-listed with ACS and has taught the required ACS Theory and Methods course as well.

Read More

Rob Sloane

Robert Sloane

Position: Undergraduate Coordinator for American Culture Studies; Instructor, American Culture Studies
Email: rsloane@bgsu.edu

Robert Sloane teaches core undergraduate courses for ACS as well as the Teaching ACS course for graduate students.

Chuck Coletta

Charles Coletta

Position: Lecturer, Popular Culture and American Culture Studies
Email: ccolett@bgsu.edu

Dr. Coletta teaches courses for both ACS and Popular Culture.

Read More

English Department
Bill Albertini - Chair and Graduate Coordinator; Associate Professor, Literature
Khani Begum - Associate Professor, Literature
Kim Coates - Associate Professor, Literature
Phil Dickinson - Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Senior Lecturer, Literature
Gary Heba - Associate Professor, Scientific and Technical Communication
Erin Labbie - Associate Professor, Literature
Piya Pal Lapinski - Associate Professor, Literature
Simon Morgan-Russell - Dean, Honors College; Professor, Literature
Sharona Muir - Professor, Creative Writing

Department of Ethnic Studies 
Vibha Bhalla - Associate Professor
Thomas Edge - Lecturer
Dalton Jones - Associate Professor
Sridevi Menon - Associate Professor
Timothy Messer-Kruse - Professor
Susana Peña - Director of School of Cultural and Critical Studies; Associate Professor

Department of Popular Culture
Becca Cragin - Associate Professor
Montana Miller - Associate Professor
Angela Nelson - Associate Professor
Kristen Rudisill - Associate Professor, Department Chair and Graduate Coordinator
Jeremy Wallach - Professor

School of Media and Communication
Joshua Atkinson - Associate Professor, Interpersonal Communication
Katherine Bradshaw - Chair; Associate Professor, Journalism
Sandra Faulkner - Director, Women's, Gender, and Sexualtiy Studies; Professor, Media and Communications
Alberto Gonzalez - Chair; Professor, Interpersonal Communication
Ellen Gorsevski - Associate Professor, Communication
Louisa Ha - Professor, Media Production and Studies
Lisa Hanasono - Associate Professor, Interpersonal Communication
Lara Lengel - Professor, Interpersonal Communication
Clayton Rosati - Associate Professor, Media Production and Studies
Ewart Skinner - Associate Professor, Media Production and Studies

Department of History
Benjamin Greene - Associate Professor, History
Ruth Wallis Herndon
 - Associate Professor, History
Nicole Jackson - Associate Professor, History
Rebecca Mancuso - Associate Professor, History and Canadian Studies
Apollos O. Nwauwa - Director, Africana Studies; Professor, History

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program
Sarah Rainey - Associate Professor, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies;
Director of Undergraduate Studies, School of Cultural and Critical Studies
Opportune Zongo - Associate Professor, Romance and Classical Studies and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Department of Theatre and Film
Angie Ahlgren - Assistant Professor
Cynthia Baron
 - Professor
Jonathan Chambers
 - Professor
Lesa Lockford - Professor

School of Human Movement, Sport & Leisure Studies
Vikki Krane - Professor, School of Human Movement, Sport & Leisure Studies
Nancy Spencer
 - Professor

Department of Economics
Kevin Quinn - Associate Professor

Department of Geography
Karen Johnson-Webb - Associate Professor, Center for Regional Development

School of Family & Consumer Sciences
Lubomir Popov - Professor, Interior Design

Library Sciences
Bill Schurk - Sound Recording Archivist

Department of German, Russian and East Asian Languages
Edgar Landgraf - Professor
Ted Rippey - Associate Dean, A&S; Associate Professor, German

School of Art
Andrew Hershberger - Professor, Art History
Leigh-Ann Pahapil - Associate Professor, First Year Program Coordinator
Allie Terry-Fritsch - Associate Professor, Art History
Katerina Ruedi Ray - Director and Professor

Department of Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Katherine Meizel - Associate Professor

Department of Sociology
Jorge Chavez - Associate Professor
Madeline Duntley - Associate Professor

Department of Architecture and Environmental Design
Sara Khorshidifard - Assistant Professor

The MA Executive Committee

Dr. Robert Sloane
Dr. Jeff Brown
Dr. Vibha Bhalla
Dr. Lee Nickoson
Graduate Representative: Tyler Wertsch, MA

Phd Executive Committee

Dr. Bill Albertini
Dr. Rebecca Kinney
Dr. Dalton Jones
Dr. Kim Coates
Dr. Cynthia Baron
Graduate Representative: Becky Jenkins, PhD

Advisory Committee

Dr. Jonathan Chambers
Dr. Andrew Hershberger
Dr. Ellen Gorsevski
Dr. Kim Coates
Dr. Nicole Jackson
Dr. Sri Menon
Dr. Vikki Krane
Dr. Ted Rippey
Dr. Jolie Sheffer
Graduate Representatives: Steven Bellavia, PhD; Tyler Wertsch, MA

ACS Graduate Student Council

Amelia Amemate, MA
Meg Lemoine, MA
Keisuke Kimura, MA
Jacqueline Hudson, PhD
Elizabeth Brownlow, PhD
Elizabeth Collins, PhD
Steven Bellavia, PhD


Beka Patterson

Position: Graduate Program Secretary to the School of Cultural and Critical Studies

Phone: 419 372 8886; Fax: 419 372 7537
Email: rpatter@bgsu.edu
Address: 101 East Hall


Amy Davidson

Position: Administrative Assistant to the School of Cultural and Critical Studies
Phone: 419 372 6525; Fax: 419 372 0330
Email: amyd@bgsu.edu
Address: 227 Shatzel Hall


Dee Dee Wentland

Position: Senior Secretary to the School of Cultural and Critical Studies
Phone: 419 372 2796; Fax: 419 372 0330
Email: dwentla@bgsu.edu
Address: 228 Shatzel Hall