2024 Douglas Wayland
Chamber Music Competition

Dr. Hannah Levinson
Dr. Brian Snow

J. Patrick Rafferty, Violin, University of Louisville (retired)
Katherine Jolly, Associate Professor of Voice, Oberlin Conservatory
David Zerkel, Professor of Tuba/Euphonium, University of Michigan
Young Hyun Cho, Associate Professor of Piano, Michigan State University

Saturday, March 16, 2024

10 A.M. Bryan Recital Hall
Moore Musical Arts Center


Undergraduate Division

5/4 Bar Quintet

Nuclear Child Games | Babur Tongur
          I. Toward an Unmassacared Future
         II. An Old Love Song

Circusmuziek | Ton der Doest

Cruz Stock, bassoon
Kathryn Swanson, oboe
Hannah Huddle, saxophone
Mackenzie Zdrojewski, clarinet
Ricky Jurski, bass clarinet


Kashaly Quartet

Grand Flute Quartet | Ernest Kohler
          I. Allegro Moderato

Winds of Bowling Green for Piccolo Quartet | Terri Sánchez

Halie O'Loughlin, flute/piccolo
Lydia Long, flute/piccolo
Ashley Busch, flute/piccolo
Kiersten Swihart, flute/piccolo


Early Bird Quartet

Quartet for Four Saxophones | Alexander Glazunov
      II. Canzona Variations
             I. Canzona
            II. Variation 1
           III. Variation 2
            IV. Variation 4 (A La Chopin)
             V. Variation 5 (Scherzo)

Keen | Roshanne Etezady

Mary Borus, soprano saxophone
Aidan Peper, alto saxophone
Nathan Wood, tenor saxophone
Lukas Bass, baritone saxophone


Falcon Flute Choir

Chivy | Nicole Chamberlain

Blue Train | Ryohei Hirose

Halie O’Loughlin, flute/piccolo
Evelyn Taylor, flute
Amanda Reed, flute
Jessica Twardesky, flute/alto flute
Ashley Murray, flute/bass flute
Kylee Helmick, flute/piccolo
Kiersten Swihart, flute
Madison Duncan, flute
Sarah Beckstedt, flute


Carnelian Trio

Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 17 | Clara Schumann
           I. Allregro Moderato

Piano Trio No. 4 in E minor, Op. 90, B166 "Dumky" | Antonin Dvorak
          I. Lento maestoso - Allegro quasi doppio movimento

Ayanna Grant, violin
Caitlin Slusarski, cello
Luca Albano, piano


Graduate Division

Messiaen Quartet

Quatuor pour la Fin du Temps | Olivier Messiaen
          I. Liturgie de cristal
       VII. Fouillis d’arcs-en-ciel, pour l’Ange qui annonce la fin du Temps

Entwining | Paul Novak
          I. swirling

Malika Brower, violin
Joshua Lyphout, cello
Justin Brown, clarinet
Abigail Petersen, piano



Trio No. 3 for Three Flutes, Op. 86 | Friedrich Kuhlau

Orion's Belt for Flute Trio | Nicole Chamberlain
          I. Mintaka

Bekah Walker, flute
Skylar Diehl, flute
Eunha Kim, flute


Iris String Quartet

String Quartet | Maurice Ravel
          I. Allegro Moderato. Très doux

String Quartet Op. 20, No. 4 in D major | Joseph Haydn
         II. Un poco adagio e affetuoso

Antonia Suarez Gomez, violin
Jessica Pytel, violin
Sujin Kim, viola
Rafael Lima da Silva, cello

Thanks for attending this performance. If you have enjoyed your experience, please consider donating to the College of Musical Arts in support of our students and programming. Donate online at bgsu.edu/givecma, or call Sara Zulch- Smith at 419-372-7309.

To our guests with disabilities, please indicate if you need special services, assistance or appropriate modifications to fully participate in our events by contacting Accessibility Services, access@bgsu.edu, 419-372-8495. Please notify us prior to the event.

Audience members are reminded to silence alarm watches, pagers and cellular phones before the performance. As a matter of courtesy and copyright law, no recording or unauthorized photographing is allowed. BGSU is a nonsmoking campus.

Updated: 03/15/2024 04:30PM