BGSU Sales Competition Winners Announced; Will Compete Nationally


(Pictured left to right – Josh Wolpert, Collin Levandowski, Hayden Kuzma, and Dr. Greg Rich)

Students competed for one of the top two coveted spots in the BGSU Sales Competition. The first and second place finishers automatically compete at the National Collegiate Sales Competition (NSCS) in the spring, with the third place finisher as an alternate.

The competition was fierce this year with hard decisions to make. Congratulations go to the following winners:

  • first place -  Collin Levandowski, a junior with a dual specialization in sales and services marketing and international business
  • second place - sophomore Hayden Kuzma, specializing in sales and services marketing
  • third place - sophomore, Josh Wolpert, also a sales and services marketing student. 

Round 1 of the competition began in September with nearly 40 students competing in a three-minute role play. Fourteen finalists advanced to round 2 and recorded a 15-minute role play, posing as a Marathon Petroleum salesperson and made a call to the owner of a Marathon-branded gas station and convenience store to sell a new loyalty program. Consumers could earn points for buying fuel and food items from the owner’s gas station/store.

Representatives from 30 companies served as judges to select the top three from recorded videos. Besides a chance to compete at the national level, Levandowski earned a $1,000 prize, Kuzma won $500, and Wolpert received $250.

Marketing Associate Professor, Greg Rich, oversees the sales program and organizes the sales competition. Davida Frick, who has over twenty years of sales and sales management experience, has been a volunteer coach for BGSU sales students competing in regional competitions. She will be working with Dr. Rich to prepare the team for the national competition.

BGSU has a tradition of success at NSCS. In 2017, Derwin Pritchett finished 10th out of 144 competitors and Andrew Ludwig finished 12th out of 147 in 2015. In 2010, the BGSU team won the National Championship.

Updated: 11/09/2018 10:29AM