Student Accomplishments

Students in the Department of Economics are often the recipients of awards or earn recognition from a campus or national agency.  Below we report some of the recent awards that our students have won.

We had several students win department scholarships at the CBA Honors and Awards Banquet.

Fall 2020:

  • Carson Musser – Dolores Reynolds Book Award
  • Jace Clemens – Vimala Krishnan Book Award
  • Yash Chauhan – John and Arleen Hoag Economics Scholarship
  • Nicolas Hofland – Navin Scholarship for Public Sector Economics
  • Timothy Selhorst – Paul Haas Economics Scholarship
  • Alexis Noll and Emily Suchan – Amena Khatun Economics Scholarships
  • Jenna Gaiownik – Alumni/Faculty Economics Scholarship

Fall 2019:

  • Conner Phillips – Dolores Reynolds Book Award
  • Justin Buchman – John and Arleen Hoag Economics Scholarship
  • Gabriel Stechschulte – Navin Scholarship for Public Sector Economics
  • Alex Medlin – Paul Haas Economics Scholarship
  • Summer McVicker and Michael Houle – Amena Khatun Economics Scholarships
  • Grant Newberry – Alumni/Faculty Economics Scholarship

Fall 2018:

  • Michael Woytek - Alumni/Faculty Economics Scholarship
  • Ariona Grisham and Kendall Newcomer - Amena Khatun Economics Scholarships
  • Dominic Bashford - Paul Haas Scholarship
  • Alannah Reisling - Navin Scholarship for Public Sector Economics
  • Angela Perry-Hudson - John and Arleen Hoag Economics Scholarship
  • Benjamin Essex - Dolores Reynolds Book Award
  • Katherine Przybylski - Vimala Krishnan Book Award

Fall 2017:

  • Mark Richards - Alumni/Faculty Economics Scholarship
  • Nick Yeager - Bartley Brennan Memorial Scholarship
  • Kendall Newcomer - Paul Haas Economics Scholarship
  • Luke Marcus - John and Arleen Hoag Economics Scholarship
  • Jacob Dillon and Kyle Lepore - Amena Khatun Economics Scholarships
  • Emily Gunner - Navin Scholarship for Public Sector Economics
  • Kelsey Weaver and Presley Weaver - Dolores Reynolds Book Award

Fall 2016:

  • Giannina Celis - Alumni/Faculty Economics Scholarship
  • Emily Gunner - Amena Khatun Economics Scholarship
  • Grant Jones - Paul Haas Economics Scholarship
  • Landon van der Molen - Navin Scholarship for Public Sector Economics
  • Brittany Pizzuli - John and Arleen Hoag Economics Scholarship
  • Claire Nelson - Vimala Krishnan Book Award
  • Ryan Canterbury - Dolores Reynolds Book Award
  • Andrew Lotz - Karl and Joan Vogt Leadership in Economics Award

Fall 2015:

  • Andrew Lotz - Karl Vogt Economics Scholarship in Economics Award
  • Adam Toth - Dolores Reynolds Book Award
  • Ryan Canterbury - Vimala Krishnan Book Award
  • Matt Kovach - John Hoag Economics Scholarship
  • Paxton Edwards and Brett Lippian - Navin Scholarship for Public Sector Economics
  • Quentin McKinnon and Anderson Okuley - Paul Haas Economics Scholarship
  • Kourtney Greco and Emily Little - Amena Khatun Economics Scholarship
  • Shannon Wilson - Alumni/Faculty Economics Scholarship
  • Brittany Pizzuli - Kyoo Kim Economics Scholarship
  • Brian Healey - Economics Book Award

The Economics Department inducted several new members into Omicron Delta Epsilon, the Economics Honorary Society.  

  • Spring 2020:  Grant Newcomer and Sarah Kittner
  • Spring 2019:  Olaleye Olamide, Connor Phillips, Alannah Reisling, Aaron Tormeti
  • Fall 2018:  Henrietta Achiaa Appiah and Benjamin Essex
  • Spring 2018:  Angela Perry-Hudson, Dominique Seo
  • Fall 2017:  John Ryan
  • Spring 2017:  Giannina Celis, Jacob Dillon, Mina Milovic
  • Spring 2016:  Marina Costa, Jia Duan, Grant Jones, Michelle Pogozelski, Alyssa Pyles, Mark Richards.
  • Fall 2015:  Kevin Burgett and Emily Gunner.
  • Spring 2015:  Michael Bixel, Natalie Letostak, Michaela Pendergrass, Michael Thompson, Shannon Wilson, and Ruoning Han.

The Economics Departments holds an Annual Undergraduate Economics Student Paper Conference each spring.  In 2019, Alannah Reisling won the second-place presentation award and Stephen Strouse won the honorable mention paper award.

Spring 2016, Kourtney Greco, was selected as the top graduating economics student.  Kourtney was a double major – Applied Economics and Accounting.  Her internships included:  Audit intern at Nationwide, Department Auditor in the Merchandise Department for Cedar Fair Entertainment Company, Office Intern at Alpha Care Adult Day Center, and owner/writer of Creative Children’s Tales.  She was involved with the following organizations during her college career:  President, Vice President of Finances, and Executive Assistant for Kreischer Hall Council, member of BGSU Resident Student Association, Finalist Participant in the Dallas-Hamilton Center For Entrepreneurial Leadership Falcon Hatchery, National Society of Leadership and Success, Sigma Alpha Pi, Treasurer and Secretary for Economics Club, President and Vice President of Entrepreneurship Club, and a member of Sailing Club

Ben Zauski won the College of Business Karl E. Vogt Outstanding Senior Award in Spring 2015.  Ben graduated in summer 2015 earning his Bachelor of Science in Economics as well as a bachelor’s in statistics from the College of Arts & Sciences. Zauski was a leader in the Actuarial Science Society and had an actuarial internship with Cincinnati Insurance Companies. He was a mathematics and statistics tutor and was promoted to the position of tutor mentor, managing the University’s tutoring center.  As an honors student, Zauski became a College Reading and Learning Association Certified International Tutor through a year-and-a-half training process. Zauski was the first person to graduate from our new Master’s in financial economics program at BGSU in Spring 2016.