Department recognized for outstanding contributions to education
The Sociology Department was honored with the 2017 Faculty Senate Unit Recognition Award at the Faculty Excellence Awards Ceremony. The award recognizes a unit that makes an outstanding contribution to BGSU’s educational environment. The coordinated effort of our faculty to capitalize on the strengths of our doctoral-granting department has translated into new pathways for our undergraduate students to put their sociological skills into action through social science research. The SOC 4800 Capstone course, which trains majors to conduct independent research, is one of these opportunities the department offers.  
John Boman receives Excellence in Teaching Faculty Award
Assistant Professor John Boman received an Excellence in Teaching Faculty Award from #BGSU chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success. Way to represent sociology, John!
Susan Brown receives Clifford C. Clogg Award

Susan Brown, distinguished professor and chair, was honored at the Population Association of America's (PAA) annual meeting with the Clifford C. Clogg Award. The award was established to honor outstanding innovative scholarly achievements of population professionals who have attained their highest professional degree within the previous 10-20 years. The award is sponsored by PAA in association with the Population Research Institute of the Pennsylvania State University, and commemorates the memory and creative contributions of Clifford C. Clogg to the field of quantitative methods and labor force demography.

Susan Brown and I-Fen Lin receive President’s Award

Drs. Susan Brown and I-Fen Lin, professors in the Department of Sociology, have been working with two graduate students on a National Institutes of Health-funded research project on gray divorce and well-being. Using a collaborative approach, Anna Hammersmith, PhD candidate, and Matthew Wright, recent PhD graduate, have been integrated into all stages of the research process.

In recognition of this effort, they received a President’s Award for Collaborative Research and Creative Work at the Faculty Excellence Awards April 9. The award recognizes innovative research and creative work conducted by faculty members in collaboration with graduate students.  

Steve Demuth serves as expert witness in federal case
Associate Professor Steve Demuth donated his time to research misdemeanor arrest records in Harris County (Houston), Texas, the third largest jail system in the country. Demuth said the work he did for the Civil Rights Corps (CRC) of Washington, D.C., helped substantiate that the money bail system in Harris County is unconstitutional. His research and analysis were part of CRC’s class-action lawsuit against the county for misdemeanor bail practices.  
Karen Guzzo receives Olscamp Research Award
Associate Professor Karen Guzzo received the Olscamp Research award during the ceremony. Her leadership and national recognition in the sociology field only has grown through her impressive achievements during this period, including numerous high-quality publications as well as a federal grant award from the National Institutes of Health totaling more than $1 million.
Kara Joyner Elected Council Member of ASA
Professor Kara Joyner has been elected Council Member of the American Sociological Association (ASA) Section on the Sociology of Population. Her 3-year term begins immediately following the ASA annual meeting in August.  
I-Fen Lin named GSA Fellow
Professor I-Fen Lin has been awarded Fellow status at the Gerontological Society of America (GSA). She was nominated by the current and former editors of the flagship GSA journal, Journals of Gerontology: Social Sciences. GSA Fellow status recognizes members for their outstanding and continuing work in the field of gerontology.  
Monica Longmore receives Outstanding Contributor to Graduate Education Award
Professor Monica Longmore received the Outstanding Contributor to Graduate Education Award. Professor Longmore is pictured with doctoral student William Clemens who nominated her for the award.  

Updated: 06/30/2021 08:59AM