Tenure, promotion granted by trustees


The University celebrated the scholarly and creative achievements of 43 faculty members on May 4 when the board of trustees awarded promotion and tenure.

The trustees also approved the hiring as associate professor with tenure of Dr. Neil Baird, for the English department. Baird joins BGSU from Western Illinois University, where he is an associate professor and director of the University Writing Center.

Faculty promoted to full professor:
• Dr. Neil Englehart, political science
• Dr. Gabriel Matney, School of Teaching and Learning
• Dr. Wei Ning, mathematics and statistics
• Dr. Jeanne Novak, School of Intervention Services
• Dr. Kurt Panter, School of Earth, Environment and Society
• Linda Rich, library teaching and learning
• Dr. Nancy Spencer, School of Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
• Dr. Mikhail Zamkov, physics and astronomy

Receiving tenure:
• Dr. Mohamad Mayyas, engineering technologies

IMBG7568Rebecca Kinney and Nicole Jackson (left and right) savor their achievements.    

Tenure and promotion to associate professor:
• Dr. Kelly Balistreri, sociology
• Thomas Castillo, theatre and film
• Dr. Douglas Ewing, marketing
• Dr. Nicole Jackson, history
• Dr. Andrew Kear, School of Earth, Environment and Society
• Dr. Rebecca Kinney, School of Cultural and Critical Studies
• Dr. Sidra Lawrence, musicology, composition and theory
• Dr. Christina Lunceford, higher education and student affairs
• Dr. Alexis Ostrowski, chemistry
• Leigh-Ann Pahapill, School of Art
• Dr. Shannon Pelini, biological sciences
• Dr. Kimberly Rogers, mathematics and statistics
• Dr. Jerry Schnepp, visual communication and technology education
• Chris Willis, School of Educational Foundations, Leadership and Policy
• Dr. Alexey Zayak, physics and astronomy

Promotion to senior lecturer:
• Cynthia Bailey, applied sciences
• Elizabeth Burns, mathematics and statistics
• Abigail Cloud, English
• Ann Darke, mathematics and statistics
• Dr. Daria Filippova, mathematics and statistics
• Dr. Eric Mandell, physics and astronomy
• Dr. Christina Miller, mathematics and statistics
• Dr. James Pfundstein, world languages and cultures
• Amanda Rzicznek, English
• Dr. Allen Rogel, physics and astronomy
• Kimberly Spallinger, English
• Dr. Margaret Weinberger, sociology
• Sandra Zirkes, mathematics and statistics

Promotion to Lecturer:
• Brandon Briggs, School of Art
• Cole Burger, music education
• Michelle Heckman, mathematics and statistics
• Jaclyn McLean, natural and social sciences
• Dr. Louie Moreno, School of Cultural and Critical Studies
• Chad Van Buskirk, English

Updated: 05/09/2018 04:38PM