Slater Family Ice Arena Figure Skating Scholarships

Summer figure skating scholarships are awarded annually by the Slater Family Ice Arena and made possible through generous donations. The scholarships were started by the Hamilton Family in appreciation for the support Scott received in his early years. They are designed to promote and encourage competitive level figure skating and to recognize individual accomplishments, dedication and good sportsmanship.

The Marissa Rose Memeorial Scholarship is currently the only Slater Family Ice Arena scholarship being awarded for the Summer of 2019.

The Bowling Green Skate Club also awards Figure Skating Scholarships.  Please visit their website for more information.

This scholarship is named in memory of Marissa Ann Rose, a 16-year old Bowling Green Skating Club member, who was killed tragically in a car accident on November 20, 2007. Marissa participated in the Bowling Green Skating Club as a volunteer coach, Ice Horizons cast member, and as a competitive skater. She will be fondly remembered by all at the Slater Family Ice Arena for her dedication to skating, kindness to others and warm smile.

In addition to skating, Marissa was an Anthony Wayne High School junior and a National Honor Society member. She was a member of the Anthony Wayne marching band, symphonic band, pit orchestra, and tennis team and also a member of the Toledo Youth Orchestra, Ottawa Hills Flute Choir and was a soloist at St. Joan of Arc Parish.

The recipient of the Marissa Rose Scholarship will be recognized and invited to skate at the Spring Exhibition held at the Slater Family Ice Arena on Saturday, May 11, 2019. In addition the recipient will receive an engraved plaque, have his or her name on a permanent plaque displayed at the Slater Family Ice Arena, and receive $250.00 of figure skating ice time to be used during the 2019 Slater Family Ice Arena summer figure skating sessions.

2019 Marissa Rose Memorial Scholarship

Selection Criteria

  1. Demonstrates a committed interest in, and an ability in figure skating.
  2. Attended skating sessions on a regular basis throughout the skating season with a focus on improving and progressing throughout the sport.
  3. Passed at least the US Figure Skating Pre-Preliminary Freestyle Test or all three Preliminary Dance Tests.
  4. Well rounded participation in figure skating activities.
  5. Demonstrates positive behavior on the ice acting as a role model for beginning skaters.

For additional information contact Laura Fischer:
Phone: 419.372.8686

The funding for these scholarships is from donations to Ice Horizons, Inc and profits from the 21 Ice Horizons show productions. Ice Horizons, Inc helped to promote the art, craft and sport of figure skating among the youth and adults of  Northwest Ohio. The first Ice Horizons Show was March 29, 1968 and the last show was April 21, 2007. Past shows have featured some of the most famous ice skaters in America including Bowling Green natives and national champions Scott Hamilton and Alissa Czisny.

A committee comprised of members of the Bowling Green skating community will read and review all applications. The committee will select the recipient based on the criteria below along with the qualifications obtained from the application and review of the short essays.

Up to four $250 scholarships will be awarded on an annual basis and will be awarded to BGSC LTS skaters and to BGSC  primary skaters. Each scholarship will be $250 Slater Family Ice Arena gift card that can be used for classes, ice time, or skating merchandise at the arena. The recipients of the Ice Horizons scholarships will be recognized during the 2019 Spring Exhibition on Saturday May 11, 2019.

2019 Ice Horizons Scholarship

Selection Criteria

  1. Demonstrates a committed interest in, and ability in figure skating
  2. Demonstrates good sportsmanship
  3. Skated with the Bowling Green Skating Club for a minimum of one year
  4. Must be a current member of the Bowling Green Skating Club with either a BGSC LTS (Basic Skills) membership or Full/Primary USFS membership.
  5. Primary members must have passed the U.S. Figure Skating Pre-Preliminary MIF Test or all three Preliminary Dance Tests
  6. Financial hardships will be taken into consideration
  7. Prior year award recipients are eligible to apply

Submission Deadline:

April 15, 2019


For additional information contact Bowling Green Skate Club 

Current and Past Scholarships Descriptions

  • Scott Hamilton Award: Named in honor of Scott Hamilton, Bowling Green native, 2 time Olympian and 4 time World Figure Skating Champion. 
  • Kay Thurman Award: Named in honor of former BGSU Ice Arena Business Manager.
  • Dr. F. Fred Householder Award: Named in memory of Bowling Green Figure Skating Club long time member and supporter. 
  • Ruby Ginke Award: Named in memory of Bowling Green Skating Club judge and long time member.
  • Marissa Rose Memorial Scholarship: Named in memory of 16 year old Bowling Green Skating Club member.


Scholarship Contributions

Continuing scholarship contributions may be made to the Bowling Green State University Foundation - Ice Arena Fund:

Mail to:

BGSU Foundation Inc.
Mileti Alumni Center
Bowling Green, OH 43403
(Include 30-000570 in memo line)

A complete name and address is necessary if a receipt is desired.  All donations are tax deductible.

Scholarship Winners 1974 - Present

  Scott Hamilton Award Kay Thurman Award Dr. F. Fred Householder Award Ruby Grinke Award Marissa Rose Memorial Scholarship
2019         Kelsey DeLaney
2018         Ava Peper
2017         Grace Rogers
2016         Amelia Niedermier
2015         Cora Egbert
2014         Cora Egbert
2013         Amelia Niedermier
2012         Edith Lui
2011 Edith Lui Scott Wenner Ann Williams Harmonee Morgan Emily Scherreik
2010         Scott Wenner
2009         Kelsey Lahey
2008 Scott Wenner Emily Scherreik Larissa Barman Sebastian Huber Michelle Rabb
2007 Kelsey Lahey Courtney Van Horn Savannah Kruse Molly Kerr  
2006 Andrea Bellman Lexi Perrault Morgan Cheung Melanie Laughlin  
2005 Emily Laughlin Kelsey Lahey Courtney Van Horn Olivia LaFond  
2004 Marissa Rose Danielle Kuhn Michelle Raab Melanie Laughlin  
2003 Olivia LaFond Lauren Desko Kelli Alexander Emily Laughlin  
2002 Lauren Desko Amy Czubinski Emily Laughlin Danielle Leach  
2001 Megan Bellman Hannah Phillips Nicole Vellinga Kaitlin Miller  
2000 Laura Dunn Caitlin Lanseer Kate Bresnan Melissa Telecky  
1999 Ashleigh Behrendt Danielle Barnhisel Melissa Telecky Katie Anthony  
1998 Alissa Czisny Amber Czisny Ted Ostrowski Lisa Chambers  
1997 Laura Dunn Melissa Telecky Monica Birsen Don Bradner  
1996 Nealy Sarver Laura Meyers Amber Czisny Alissa Czisny  
1995 Kate Sockrider Amber Czisny Alissa Czisny Carly Nutter  
1994 Lauren Brandau Rebecca Clemons Stefanie Lopez Nealy Sarver  
1993 Stefanie Lopez Jennifer C. White Kate Sockrider Meredith Piersol  
1992 Bridie Myles Adrean Ware Laura Meyers Taegen Sullivan  
1991 Chrissy Wolfe Amy Marlowe Heather Bobel Kelly Grimm  
1990 Erin Richter Dawn Loucks Amanda Adryslak Sarah Lane  
1988 Kathleen Eckert        
1987 Kelly Thorbahn Beth Mura      
1986 Kristen Lee        
1984 Kelly Wilson        
1983 Jamie Eubank Laura Green
Kelly Wilson
Julie Olney
Julie Bhaer
1982 Shelly Strow Julie Olney
Michelle Jankowski
Laura Green
Gretchen Wilhelm
1981 Laura Green Stacy Fair
Julie Olney
Tyna Sandberg
1980 Karl Crandall Karl Crandall
Tyna Sandberg
Erika Crandall
Laura Green
1979 Chris Hefner Cindy McKinney
Tanya Essen
Karl Crandall
Shelly Strow
Sarah Martin
Heide Crandall
1978 Lona Johnson Larry Kim
Shelly Strow
1977 Sarah Martin Cindy Irmen      
1976   Cindy Irmen
Margaret Brennan
Jani Diehl
Kalinda Aaron
Erika Crandall
1975   Bonnie Marshall      
1974   Tammy Strayer
Zan Zimmerman
Margaret Brennan
Erin O' Connor

Updated: 07/22/2020 03:27PM