Juror’s Statement

I want to first thank Jacqui for thinking of me for this year’s juror. BGSU holds a special place in my heart, and I am so grateful for the opportunity to come back to this familiar space with a new purpose.

The Now OH exhibition is always an excellent opportunity to view a wide variety of media, technique, and talent – this year is no exception.  From traditional techniques of oil painting all the way to honeycomb jewelry, it was a pleasure to not only view, but jury this wonderful selection of work.

NOWOH Juror's Video Statement

The NowOH Best of Show, $500    Crystalyn Hutchens     Metamorphosis

The BGSU School of Art Award, $250     Donna Marie Beauregard     Melanie’s Bruise

The Toledo Federation of Arts Societies Award, $250     Tom Muir     Title: Beekeeper’s Neckpiece

First Place 2-D, $150      M. M. Dupay     She Was Navigating a Different Kind of Spectacle

Second place 2-D, $100     Randy Bennett     No Parking

First place 3-D, $150    Amy Fell     Mossy Stones

Second place 3-D, $100     Alyssa Radke     Unstable Vessel

Bowling Green Arts Council Youth Art Award (16-18), $100     Chloe Kozal      Sent with Love

Honorable Mentions 

Emily Wigglesworth     Agency Over Identity

Brennen Otersen     Vitality

Anna Yates     Until the Meter Stops Running

Jennifer Sheriff     Afterthought

Andrew Vogelpohl     Ticklish Spot

Popular Choice Award, $50    Haylie Bowlby  


Juror:  Ellen Mensch

Ellen Mensch is a fine artist, illustrator, curator, and adjunct lecturer based in Fort Wayne, IN. She received a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Indiana University in 2017, followed by a Master of Fine Arts from Bowling Green State University in 2020. She currently works as both a Lecturer at Purdue Fort Wayne and as the Exhibitions & Marketing Coordinator for Artlink Contemporary Gallery in Fort Wayne, IN.

Artist's Website


Updated: 07/15/2021 02:03PM