Juried Award Winners


Award Winners

The NOW OH Best of Show, $750

Alyssa Radtke

Infestation of Fixation

First Place 2-D, $250

Jean Gidich-Holbrook

We Are Here

Second place 2-D, $100

Randy A. Bennett

For a Tootsie Roll

First place 3-D, $250

Audrey Aronson


Second place 3-D, $100

Hayley Bowlby

Release Me

Bowling Green Noon Kiwanis Youth Art Award (16-18), $200

Rachel Miller

Untitled Self Portrait

Toledo Federation of Art Societies Award, $250

Delaney MeSun Shin

Low Tide

Bowling Green Arts Council Popular

Choice Award, $100 (posted at the end of the show)

Artist , TBA

Title, TBA

Honorable Mentions

Bethany Buchanan


Michelle Arnold Paine

Fortress Gate

Kelsey McGovern

Give it a Chance

Rachel Miller

Memento Angelus

Cody Moser

It's in Aisle 12

John A. Jones

Old Bottles

Tom Muir

Beekeepers Earrings

Joshua Klein

High Level Bridge

Margo Morr

Eyes of Wonder

Karrie King

Barn on H

Camden Courtney

Faint of Heart

Andrew Swartzlander

Second Time's a Charm

Awards Juror

Laura Makar

Gallery Manager at Wayne State University
Laura Makar

About Our Juror

Laura Makar was born in Buffalo, NY and grew up in Toledo, OH. She earned her BFA, at Bowling Green State University, OH, in 2009 and her MFA at Wayne State University (WSU) in 2014. She was awarded the 2013 Thomas C. Rumble Graduate Fellowship, WSU, and most recently received an exhibition award for her artwork at the Terrain: 2018 Biennial All Media Exhibition, Detroit Artists Market. Laura has exhibited her work locally and nationally; including exhibitions in California, Georgia, New York, and North Dakota. Additionally, Laura has had solo exhibitions at Whitdel Arts, Detroit; ROY G BIV Gallery, Columbus, OH; and Manifest Gallery, Cincinnati, OH. Since 2015, Laura has served as the Gallery Manager for the Elaine L. Jacob Gallery and Art Department Gallery since 2015.



The Fine Art Center Galleries, Bowling Green State University, provides artists with professional experiences, including opportunities to display their work and engage in dialogue. I would like to thank Jacqueline Nathan, Gallery Director, for inviting me to be this year’s guest juror. I am honored and delighted to be a part of NowOH Community Art Exhibition at my alma mater, and embrace the mission of the galleries. The artworks included in this exhibition demonstrate exceptional technique, quality, and presentation, making the selection process difficult, but enjoyable. Through an extensive evaluation, I based my decisions on how the artwork connects to the viewer through form and content. Looking at each work, one can understand how personal experiences and philosophies were inspirational to the artists. I was further impressed by their approaches that comment on contemporary society, evoking a sense of reflection and encouraging the viewer to address their own intentions and motivations. Essences of critical thinking and discourse are present within the works, leaving lasting impressions. I want to congratulate everyone who submitted and has work featured in this year’s exhibition, along with a special congratulation to this year’s award winners. The work was truly expectational and showcases a variety of skill, mediums, and concepts. I hope NowOH 15 offers opportunities and inspiration to everyone. 

Updated: 06/29/2022 10:31AM