Thanks for visiting our site! Look here for announcements of events, program activities, and opportunities for writers. To share your news, fill out the form below.

New Writers Joining us in Fall 2018:
Aryanna Falkner
Neeraja Iyer
Alise Miller
Matthew Stewart
Christina Stump
Evan Blake
Lucas Fulton
Shay Hawkins
Sherrel McLafferty
Julia Webb
Here's some very special news!
Anthony Doerr's novel, All the Light We Cannot See, is winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.  For more information about this inspiring news, visit here. Doerr is an alumnus of our MFA Program.
Distinguished Visiting Writer
Please welcome poet Rebecca Morgan Frank, who will be in residence Spring 2019!
Frank Baldanza Scholarship - Veronica Sholey
English Faculty Scholarship – Farah El-Nahal and Mackenna Finley
Gloria S. Swihart English Scholarship – Katie Liggett
Kirk Foster Memorial Fund – Johnathon Durgala
Thomas A. Casey Scholarship in Literature - Kathryn Fletcher
Sandra Marie Albright Scholarship – Rachael Kuecher, Andrea Avers, and Reagan Shull
Dorothy Wolfe Scholarship – Rachel Husk
Mae W. Casey Scholarship in Creative Writing – Abigail Warschauer
Our Devine winners for 2018 are:
Poetry: Roseanna Boswell and Benji Katz
Fiction: Bridget Adams and Rebecca Orchard
New Writers Joining us in Fall 2017:
Anne Weyer
Hadeel Salameh
Nicholas Rys
Kari Hanlin
Katelyn Cesarotti
Anna Short
Anthony Lograsso
Madeline Grigg
Abigail Goodhart
Erin Carlyle
And further congratulations to:
Abigail Cloud,  whose poetry collection, Sylph, is out with Pleiades/LSU Press. It's is winner of the Lena-Miles Wever Todd Poetry Prize.
Lawrence Coates for a novel, The Goodbye House (University of Nevada Press), and novella, Camp Olvido, resulting from his winning entry in Miami University of Ohio Press’s Novella Competition. Additionally, Lawrence is recipient of an Individual Excellence Award from the Ohio Arts Council and the Olscamp Research Award.
Wendell Mayo, whose new story collection, Survival House, is forthcoming in spring 2018 with SFASU Press. 
Sharona Muir, whose first novel, Invisible Beasts, is an International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Longlist selection and an Orion Book Award finalist.
Larisssa Szporluk, whose chapbook, Startle Pattern, was released by Willow Spring Books.
Theresa Williams, who has received an Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award and is finalist in the Women's New Voices competition for her chapbook, The Galaxy to Ourselves, which will be published by Finishing Line Press.
Students and Alumni:
Holly Amos (BFA 2005) for her debut collection of poems, Continual Guidance, with H_NGM_N Books.
Alison Balaskovits (MFA 2011) for winning the Santa Fe Writer’s Project Prize in Fiction, and debut collection of stories, Magic for Unlucky Girls, published with Santa Fe Writer’s Project Press.
Matt Bell (MFA 2010), whose new novel, Scrapper, is out with Soho Press.
Karen Craigo ( MFA 2000) for her debut collection of poems, No More Milk, forthcoming with Sundress Publications.
Edward Dougherty (MFA  1991), who has a new novel out, Grace Street (Cayuga Lake Books).
Jeff Fearnside (BFA, 1996), for his first collection of stories, published by Stephen F. Austin State University Press: Making Love While Levitating Three Feet in the Air.
Melissa Fraterrigo (MFA 2000), whose second book, Glory Days, is forthcoming from University of Nebraska Press in 2017.
Amy Gustine (MFA 2002) who has published her first book, You Should Pity Us Instead, in 2016 with Sarabande Books to wide acclaim. It received starred reviews in Publisher's Weekly, Kirkus, and Booklist. A review in The New York Times called it “an affecting and wide-ranging debut.” She is also winner of an Individual Excellence Award from the Ohio Arts Council.
Nick Heeb (MFA candidate) for his debut novel, The Lucky Clover, forthcoming with Shotgun Honey Press in 2018. .
Dustin M. Hoffman (MFA 2009), who is winner of the Prairie Schooner Book Prize in Fiction. His collection, One-Hundred-Knuckled Fist: Stories, will appear in Fall of 2016.
Saikat Majumdar (MFA 2001), whose novel, The Firebird, was released by Hachette Press. It has been short listed for The Atta Galatta-Bangalore Literature Festival Fiction Prize.
Gary McDowell (MFA  2007), who has won the Burnside Review Book Prize. His book of poems, Mysteries in a World that Thinks There Are None, is out with Burnside Review Press.
Caroline Morrell (MFA 2003), whose forthcoming collection of poems, Final Fort, is winner of the  2016 Brighthill Press Book Competition.
Suzanne Ondrus (MFA 2006) for her book of poems, Passion Seeds (Little Red Tree Publishing, 2014), winner of the Vernice Quebodeaux Pathways Poetry Prize. And this exclusive from the author: "This July I was in Conakry, Guinea. I was invited as a participant for the UNESCO World Book Capital, which is Conakry, Guinea from 2017 to 2018.  I gave a number of readings and talks about my book and writing in French, ranging from at the American Embassy, T.V. stations,  to the Publisher  L'Harmattan.  Here's the 2 minute copy of me on t.v. from July 26!  If anyone would like to connect with the UNESCO World Book Capital, please let me know, and I am happy to put them in contact with the organizers.
Eric Schlich (MFA 2012), who has won Hayden's Ferry's 2016 Short Fiction Contest with "When You Are Old and I Am Gray."

Marc Sumerak (BFA 1998) From Marc's web site: "Sumerak is currently best known for his writing work on Marvel Comics' Power Pack and the Eisner & Harvey Award nominated Franklin Richards: Son of a Genius. He is also providing localized translations for Spider-Man J (as featured bi-monthly in Spider-man Family). In 2008, Sumerak was excited to be writing multiple issue story arcs for both Marvel Adventures: Avengers and Marvel Adventures: Spider-Man as well as a number of other new projects in development. Other clients that Sumerak has worked with include DC Comics, American Greetings, the Elks, SAMHSA, PBS Kids, Pepperidge Farm, Tyson Foods, Restaurant Business Magazine, Triple-A Baseball, SEGA, and more! Sumerak currently resides in Cleveland, OH."

Graham Todd (MFA candidate), for a story forthcoming in Gettysburg Review, "Some Kind of Need."
Anne Valente (MFA 2010), whose novel, Our Hearts Will Burn Us Down, is forthcoming with William Morrow in October 2016.
Heather Ware (BFA candidate), who has published two fictions: a flash piece in Outrageous Fortune Literary Magazine, and "How to Have a Body" in Pamplemousse.
Anna Rose Welch (MFA 2013), whose collection of poems, Noah's Woods, has won the Alice James Award and will appear with the press in 2018.

Updated: 07/14/2021 02:59PM