Professor lauded by mathematics education council

BOWLING GREEN, O.—Dr. Daniel Brahier, a professor of teaching and learning in the Bowling Green State University College of Education and Human Development, has been presented the prestigious Christofferson-Fawcett Award by the Ohio Council of Teachers of Mathematics (OCTM).

“Most people view this award as sort of ‘lifetime achievement' recognition,” said Brahier, who is one of the youngest people to receive the award. “In the back of my mind, I have thought that someday I might receive the recognition, but I never dreamed it would be this early in my career.”

The award is the highest honor bestowed by the OCTM and is given to only one recipient each year in recognition of significant contributions to mathematics education in Ohio. Brahier is the second BGSU faculty member to receive the award since its inception in 1981. Dr. William Speer, a professor emeritus of educational curriculum and instruction, was the first BGSU recipient.

This is also the second time Brahier has been honored by the council—he was presented the Kenneth Cummins Award at last year's OCTM banquet. That award, which requires former student nominations, is given to one university math educator yearly for excellence in teaching.

The OCTM is a professional mathematics teaching organization with more than 4,000 members. Brahier is the advisor of the BGSU student affiliate, the Bowling Green State University Council of Teachers of Mathematics. The student group has around 200 members.

“Dr. Brahier is very deserving of any award that recognizes his superior teaching and his dedication to students at BGSU,” Dr. Cynthia Hendricks, director of the BGSU School of Teaching and Learning, said. “He is also very dedicated to teaching his morning class of students at St. Rose Elementary School.” He has taught math to eighth-graders at the Perrysburg school since 1996 as a way to stay connected to his subject.

Brahier's dedication and expertise have also been honored on campus. In 2001, nominated by his students, he received the BGSU Master Teacher Award from the Student Alumni Association (now the Student Alumni Connection). In 1996, he became one of the first recipients of the Outstanding Young Scholar Award. In 1995, Brahier was initiated into the Golden Key national honor society as an honorary member.

He is a past president of the OCTM, the Ohio Mathematics Education Leadership Council and the Greater Toledo Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Brahier also was a co-author of the Ohio Academic Content Standards and has written three books on mathematics education.

# # #

(Posted December 04, 2007)

Updated: 12/02/2017 01:16AM