Hall Lecture Series

The 2016 W. Heinlen Hall Lecturer
Dr. James T. Hynes
University of Colorado Boulder

June 6, 2016

Reduction of CO2 to Methanol via Hydride/Proton Transfer Steps

June 7, 2016

Water Dynamics in the Grooves of DNA

June 8, 2016

Static and Dynamic Solvent Effects on Conical Intersections for a Model Photoisomerization


Lectures are held in 113 Olscamp Hall at 3:30 p.m. For additional information please contact Lisa Rood at (419) 372-2031 or lrood@bgsu.edu

The W. Heinlen Hall Lectureship:

 W. Heinlen Hall was Professor of Chemistry at Bowling Green State University from 1936 to 1971. He served as Chair of the Department through a period of extraordinary University growth, retiring from that position in 1971, and from teaching in 1976. Many fine undergraduate students remember Professor Hall's physical chemistry lab and the formative role it played in their careers. Perhaps Dr. Hall's most important lasting contribution to the University was his continual and persistent interest in the science library and particularly the chemistry collection. It was his unyielding effort which built the library in chemistry and which has prepared the University for its future growth into a research oriented, Ph.D. granting institution. This is legacy of which Dr. Hall is extremely proud, and justifiably so.

On the occasion of Dr. Hall's retirement from teaching the Department established the W. Heinlen Hall lectures. The lectureship presents the world's leading research chemists to the students in chemistry in a series of lectures during the summer session. The purpose of the program is to expose Bowling Green undergraduate and graduate students to thinking in chemistry at the frontiers, and to introduce our young people to intellectual leaders.

From rather modest beginnings the W. Heinlen Hall lectureship has grown into a summer event which students and faculty look forward to. Though the lectureship presents individuals from all areas of chemistry, every department member generally attends.

The University faculty member makes a lasting impression on each and every student in each and every class in which the professor serves as instructor. Recognition of Dr. Hall's contribution to Bowling Green's many chemistry students over the course of his career, in a small way recognizes the contribution of all the faculty in the Chemistry Department to the growth and development of their students from the day BGSU was founded to today. The W. Heinlen Hall Lectureship is a symbol of what this University, and many like it, stand for.

W. Heinlen Hall Lecture Series

  • 2013 - Wilson Ho - University of California, Irvine

July 15, 2013
Visualization and Control of Chemistry with Ångström Resolution
July 16, 2013
The Inner Machinery of Single Molecules: Resolving the Unresolved with High Spectral Resolution STM
July 17, 2013
Beating the Diffraction Limit: Atomic Scale Optical Phenomena

  • 2011 - Geoffrey Ozin - University of Toronto
  • 2010 - Thomas E. Mallouk - Pennsylvania State University
  • 2009 - Jeffrey Moore - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2008 - Graham R. Fleming - University of California, Berkeley
  • 2007 - J. Michael Ramsey, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • 2006 - Andrew B. Holmes, University of Melbourne
  • 2005 - Michael J. Therien, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2004 - Roeland J. M. Nolte, University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • 2003 - Daniel G. Nocera, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2002 - Timothy Swager, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2001 - Gary Schuster, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2000 - Frans C. De Schryver, Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium
  • 1999 - Michael Wasielewski, Northwestern University
  • 1998 - Kurt Schaffner, Max-Planck-Institut fr Strahlenchemie, Germany
  • 1997 - Kenneth S. Suslick, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 1996 - P. Leslie Dutton, University of Pennsylvania
  • 1995 - Ned A. Porter, Duke University
  • 1994 - Paul F. Barbara, University of Minnesota
  • 1993 - Dr. Ahmed H. Zewail, California Institute of Technology
  • 1992 - Dennis A. Dougherty, California Institute of Technology
  • 1991 - Robert Letsinger, Northwestern University
  • 1990 - George McLendon, University of Rochester
  • 1989 - Allen Bard, University of Texas
  • 1988 - Jerome A. Berson, Yale University
  • 1987 - Donald M. Crothers, Yale University
  • 1986 - Arthur B. Ellis, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 1985 - Fred C. Anson, California Institute of Technology
  • 1984 - James L. Dye, Michigan State University
  • 1983 - James C. Martin, University of Illinois at Urbana
  • 1982 - Bassam Z. Shakhashiri, University of Wisconsin
  • 1981 - Harry B. Gray, California Institute of Technology
  • 1980 - Kenneth G. Spears, Northwestern University
  • 1979 - Don C. DeJongh, Finnigan Institute
  • 1978 - William J. Wechter, The Upjohn Company
  • 1977 - Stephen J. Lippard, Columbia University
  • 1976 - J. Michael McBride, Yale University
  • 1975 - Gary M. Hieftje, Indiana University
  • 1974 - Paul A. Schaap, Wayne State University