Political Science

Welcome to the BGSU Political Science Department

The Department of Political Science is devoted to the study of political power, political institutions, public policy, public opinion, citizen participation, political economy, and the international system.

The faculty strive to:

  • Develop intellectual curiosity

  • Equip students with the abilities to write incisively, speak well, and think critically

  • Cultivate the skills necessary for citizens to participate actively in democracy, engage in political dissent, and distinguish justice from injustice

The department offers an undergraduate major and minor in political science, a Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree, a dual Master's degree in Political Science and German, and a Bachelors of Science degree program in Fire Administration.

The department prepares students for success in graduate study, law school, and public service, as well as a variety of non-governmental and private sector careers.

The BGSU MPA program is proud to announce that it is accredited by the Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs and Administration (NASPAA).

Political Science Department in the News