Center for Photochemical Sciences


The Center for Photochemical Sciences, established in 1985, evolved from research activities of faculty in the Department of Chemistry at Bowling Green State University to make more effective use of focused resources in the photochemical sciences by assembling teams of scientists collaborating in an interactive, interdisciplinary research setting.

Center members include BGSU faculty from the Departments of Chemistry, Physics and Astronomy, and Biological Sciences.  Its unifying intellectual theme focuses on the study of the interaction of light with physical, chemical, and biological systems, and on the quest for practical applications of that basic knowledge, which stimulate new technology.  The Center serves to expand the synergy of research, teaching, and applications in the photochemical sciences.

Goals and Objectives

  • To conduct research across displinary boundaries.
  • To prepare students and professionals for careers in industry and academia.
  • To support established technological business through consultation and collaboration, particularly in our immediate locale, and to support the development of new business based on photoscience.
  • To serve as a resource center and transfer knowledge to those outside the Center.

Distinguishing Features

  • Strong interaction on regional, state, and national levels with industries whose research, development and product initiatives involve the photochemical sciences.
  • A distinguished scientific advisory board composed of leaders in the photosciences from industry and academia who participate in policy, planning, and establishment of long-range goals for the Center.
  • Research collaborations at the local, regional, national, and international levels.



All seminars will be held in Overman Hall 123 at 3:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

Spring 2016

Janurary 13, 2016
Lei Li-Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis

Janurary 27, 2016
Kevin Kittilstved-University of Massachusetts, Amherst

February 10, 2016
Ksenia B. Bravaya-Boston University

February 17, 2016
Delmar Larsen-University of California, Davis

February 24, 2016
Spiridoula Matsika-Temple University

March 2, 2016
David Jonas-University of Colorado, Boulder

March 23, 2016
Liang-shi Li-Indiana University

March 30, 2016
Arthur Bragg-Johns Hopkins University

April 20, 2016
Andrew Torelli-Bowling Green State University

April 27, 2016
Amanda J. Morris-Virginia Tech