logo

Faculty and Staff Directory

All faculty and staff in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics have offices on the fourth floor of the Mathematical Sciences Building (MSC). Pictures, offices, phone numbers, Email addresses and other information are listed below. Office phones have voice mail. For location assistance, see the fourth floor plan. They may also be reached by calling the Department Office (419-372-2636) and leaving a message.

  • Faculty List
  • Instructors and Visiting Faculty
  • Staff

A separate page describes Faculty Research and Selected Publications .

Click on image for individual web pages, where available.

Faculty

Albert_James

Albert, James Ph.D., Purdue U.

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7456
Email: albert@bgsu.edu
Address: 407 MSC

Bayesian inference, statistics education, statistical thinking in sports
Read more...

Bes_Juan

Bes, Juan PhD, Kent State University

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-7473
Email: jbes@bgsu.edu
Address: 421 MSC

Blok_Rieuwert

Blok, Rieuwert Ph.D., Delft U. of Technology

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-7455
Email: rblok@bgsu.edu
Address: 440 MSC

Algebra
Read more...

Chen_Hanfeng

Chen, Hanfeng Ph.D., U. of Wisconsin-Madison

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7463
Email: hchen@bgsu.edu
Address: 423 MSC

Data analysis,statistical inference

Chan_Kit

Chan, Kit Ph.D., U. of Michigan

Position: Professor and Chair
Phone: 419-372-7468
Email: kchan@bgsu.edu
Address: 415 MSC

Functional analysis, function theory
Read more...

Chen_John2

Chen, John Ph.D., University of Sydney

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7461
Email: jchen@bgsu.edu
Address: 428 MSC

Probability, biostatistics

Chou_So-Hsiang

Chou, So-Hsiang Ph.D., U. of Pittsburgh

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-8225
Email: chou@bgsu.edu
Address: 412 MSC

Numerical analysis, fluid mechanics
Read more...

Gupta_Arjun

Gupta, Arjun K. Ph.D., Purdue U.

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-2820
Email: gupta@bgsu.edu
Address: 416 MSC

Distinguished U. Professor.
Multivariate statistical analysis, analysis of categorical data, applied statistics
Read more...

elmas-irmak

Irmak, Elmas Ph.D., Michigan State U.

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-7472
Email: eirmak@bgsu.edu
Address: 425 MSC

Topology
Read more...

alex-izzo

Izzo, Alexander Ph.D., U. of California-Berkeley

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-2073
Email: aizzo@bgsu.edu
Address: 417 MSC

Banach algebras; functional analysis; several complex variables
Read more...

Meel_David3

Meel, David E. Ed.D., U. of Pittsburgh

Position: Professor and Interim Chair
Phone: 419-372-7453
Email: meel@bgsu.edu
Address: 458 MSC

Mathematics education
Read more...

Nguyen_Diem

Nguyen, Diem M. Ph.D., Texas A&M U.

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-7454
Email: dnguyen@bgsu.edu
Address: 418 MSC

Mathematics education, instructional technology, e-learning
Read more...

Ning_Wei

Ning, Wei Ph.D., Syracuse U.

Position: Associate Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
Phone: 419-372-7462
Email: wning@bgsu.edu
Address: 409 MSC

Statistics
Read more...

kim-rogers

Rogers, Kimberly Ph.D, Michigan State

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-7450
Email: kcroger@bgsu.edu
Address: 408 MSC

Mathematics Education
Read more...

RizzoMaria

Rizzo, Maria Ph.D., BGSU

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-7474
Email: mrizzo@bgsu.edu
Address: 413 MSC

Actuarial science, statistics
Read more...

Seubert_Steve

Seubert, Steven M. Ph.D., U. of Virginia.

Position: Professor and Assistant Chair
Phone: 419-372-2179
Email: sseuber@bgsu.edu
Address: 435 MSC

Functional analysis, operator theory

Shang_Junfeng

Shang, Junfeng Ph.D., U. of Missouri

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-7457
Email: jshang@bgsu.edu
Address: 430 MSC

Statistics
Read more...

Staic_Mihai

Staic, Mihai Ph.D. State U of New York at Buffalo

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-6657
Email: mstaic@bgsu.edu
Address: 427 MSC

Algebra
Read more...

Sun_Tong

Sun, Tong Ph.D., Texas A&M U.

Position: Professor & Graduate Coordinator
Phone: 419-372-7460
Email: tsun@bgsu.edu
Address: 436 MSC

Numerical analysis, scientific computations
Read more...

Wade_Gordon

Wade, J. Gordon Ph.D., Brown U.

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-0240
Email: gwade@bgsu.edu
Address: 419 MSC

Applied mathematics, actuarial science
Read more...

Xie_Xiangdong

Xie, Xiangdong Ph.D, University of Utah

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-8317
Email: xiex@bgsu.edu
Address: 427 MSC

Geometric group theory, Geometric analysis
Read more...

Zirbel_Craig

Zirbel, Craig L. Ph.D., Princeton U.

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-7466
Email: zirbel@bgsu.edu
Address: 438 MSC

Probability, stochastic processes
Read more...

Instructors

Burns_Beth

Beth Burns

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-0443
Email: burnse@bgsu.edu
Address: 432 MSC

Darke_Ann

Ann Darke

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-7458
Email: darkea@bgsu.edu
Address: 411 MSC

Filippova_Daria

Daria Filippova

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-7451
Email: dariaf@bgsu.edu
Address: 441 MSC

Friedberg_Konra

Konra Friedberg

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-7449
Email: kfriedb@bgsu.edu
Address: 410 MSC

Franke_Irina

Irina Franke

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-6651
Email: ifranke@bgsu.edu
Address: 441 MSC

Heckman_Michelle

Michelle Heckman

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-9406
Email: mheckma@bgsu.edu
Address: 439 MSC

Miller_Christy

Christina Miller

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-7997
Email: chrismm@bgsu.edu
Address: 424 MSC

Trace_Debra

Debra Trace

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-6658
Email: dtrace@bgsu.edu
Address: 405 MSC

Zirkes_Sandra

Sandra Zirkes

Position: Instructor
Phone: 419-372-2178
Email: szirkes@bgsu.edu
Address: 422 MSC

Staff

Berta_Barb

Berta, Barbara

Position: Administrative Assistant
Phone: 419-372-2638
Email: bberta@bgsu.edu
Address: 456 MSC

Seubert_Marcia

Seubert, Marcia

Position: Graduate Secretary
Phone: 419-372-2637
Email: msproul@bgsu.edu
Address: 450 MSC

Busdeker_Mary

Busdeker, Mary

Position: Receptionist/Typist
Phone: 419-372-2636
Email: marylem@bgsu.edu
Address: 450 MSC