Three Minute Thesis Competition

Three Minute Thesis - Founded by the University of Queensland

The BGSU Graduate College is planning a live Three Minute Thesis competition.  The deadline to register is Friday, January 26, 2024.  The event will be held on Thursday, February 15, 2024 at 2:30pm in the BTSU Theatre.  The first place winner will be entered into the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools 3MT competition.


The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition celebrates the exciting research conducted by graduate students.  Developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), 3MT hones students’ academic, presentation, and research communication skills. 

The competition supports their capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.  For some, it helps to develop an "elevator speech" for their research.


Students must have an approved topic and be enrolled at BGSU at some point during the academic year, including the previous summer, in which the MAGS competition is held.  Those who have completed degree requirements in the immediately preceding summer or fall semester qualify to participate.  Final determinations regarding eligibility are made by the Graduate College.    

BGSU 3MT Competition

BGSU competition will offer prizes:
  • 1st Place: $500
  • 2nd Place: $300
  • 3rd Place: $200

Register for the 3MT Competition

3MT in the BGSU News

Read about the 2019 competition.

See more

3MT in the BG Independent News

Read about the 2019 competition.

See more


The first 3MT competition was held at UQ in 2008 with 160 research students competing. In 2009 and 2010, the 3MT competition was promoted to other Australian and New Zealand universities, and enthusiasm for the concept grew. Due to its adoption in numerous universities, a multi-national event was developed, and the Inaugural Trans-Tasman 3MT competition was held at UQ in 2010.

Since 2011, the popularity of the competition has increased, and 3MT competitions are now held in over 600 universities across more than 65 countries worldwide.

In November 2013, the first Universitas 21 (U21) 3MT competition was held with several universities from around the world competing in a virtual competition. 

2016 brought an expansion of the Trans-Tasman 3MT competition to include a South-East Asia and North-East Asia. This competition is now called the Asia-Pacific 3MT competition. 

Updated: 02/26/2024 01:27PM