Degree Candidates Deadlines

Degree Candidates Deadlines

Individual programs may establish earlier deadlines or guidelines for associated activities (e.g., signing up for comprehensive exams, submitting preliminary drafts of theses and dissertations, final examinations, etc.). The appropriate program handbook or graduate coordinator should be consulted. Students are reminded that it takes time for faculty to read theses, dissertations, and examinations with the rigor and care they deserve.

2018-2020 Dates to Remember - Printer-friendly PDF version


Fall Semester 2018

  • Monday, May 21
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Friday, July 6  
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Sunday, July 15 
    • Graduation application available online
  • Monday, September 24
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted online
  • Friday, November 9
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form including all signatures is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, November 16
    • Upload of approved, final copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, November 30
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. The Plan II (Master's) is a DocuSign eform.
  • Friday, December 14
    • Graduate College Commencement

Spring Semester 2019

  • Tuesday, October 9
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Monday, October 15
    • Graduation application available online through student center
  • Monday, November 26
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Monday, February 25
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted online
  • Friday, April 12
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form including all signatures is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, April 19
    • Upload of approved, final copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, May 3
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. The Plan II (Master's) is a DocuSign eform.
  • Friday, May 17
    • Graduate College Commencement

Summer Semester 2019

  • Monday, February 4
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Friday, March 15
    • Graduation application available online through student center
  • Monday, May 13
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Monday, June 10
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted online
  • Friday, July 12
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form including all signatures is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, July 19
    • Upload of approved, final copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, August 2
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. The Plan II (Master's) is a DocuSign eform.
  • Saturday, August 17
    • Graduate College Commencement
The Graduate College reserves the right to change these dates if necessary.