Degree Candidates Deadlines

Degree Candidates Deadlines

Individual programs may establish earlier deadlines or guidelines for associated activities (e.g., signing up for comprehensive exams, submitting preliminary drafts of theses and dissertations, final examinations, etc.). The appropriate program handbook or graduate coordinator should be consulted. Students are reminded that it takes time for faculty to read theses, dissertations, and examinations with the rigor and care they deserve.

2021-2022 Dates to Remember - Printer-friendly PDF version

Spring Semester 2021

  • Friday, September 4, 2020
    • Approval of dissertation topic (Admission to doctoral candidacy)
  • Thursday, October 15, 2020
    • Graduation application available online
  • Friday, December 4, 2020
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Monday, January 11, 2020
    • Beginning of Spring semester classes. There will be no Winter Session in 2021.
  • Friday, February 12, 2021
    • Graduation application deadline
  • Friday, March 26, 2021
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Approval Form. Students should plan to defend 2 weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions/approvals.
  • Friday, April 2, 2021
    • OhioLINK upload of approved, final copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, April 16, 2021
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees
  • Friday, April 30, 2021
    • End of Spring 2021 semester. Commencement TBA.

Summer Semester 2021

  • Friday, January 22, 2021
    • Approval of dissertation topic (Admission to doctoral candidacy)
  • Monday, March 15, 2021
    • Graduation application available online
  • Friday, April 23, 2021
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Friday, June 18, 2021
    • Graduation application deadline
  • Friday, July 16, 2021
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Approval Form. Students should plan to defend 2 weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions/approvals.
  • Friday, July 23, 2021
    • OhioLINK upload of approved, final copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, August 6, 2021
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees
  • Saturday, August 21, 2021
    • Commencement 
The Graduate College reserves the right to change these dates if necessary.