Degree Candidates Deadlines

Degree Candidates Deadlines

Individual programs may establish earlier deadlines or guidelines for associated activities (e.g., signing up for comprehensive exams, submitting preliminary drafts of theses and dissertations, final examinations, etc.). The appropriate program handbook or graduate coordinator should be consulted. Students are reminded that it takes time for faculty to read theses, dissertations, and examinations with the rigor and care they deserve.

2017-2019 Dates to Remember - Printer-friendly PDF version


Spring Semester 2018

  • Tuesday, October 10
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Sunday, October 15 
    • Graduation application available online
  • Monday, November 27
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Monday, February 5
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted online
  • Friday, March 30
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form including all signatures is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, April 6
    • Upload of approved, final copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, April 20
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be received in the Office of Registration and Records by 5:00 p.m.
  • Friday, May 4
    • Graduate College Commencement

Summer Semester 2018

  • Monday, January 8
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Thursday, March 15 
    • Graduation application available online
  • Monday, April 9 
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Monday, June 5
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted online
  • Friday, June 29
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form including all signatures is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, July 6
    • Upload of approved, final copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, July 20
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be received in the Office of Registration and Records by 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 4
    • Graduate College Commencement

The Graduate College reserves the right to change these dates if necessary.