Presidential Scholars Award Competition

The Honors College and the Office of Admissions will host a scholarship competition for incoming freshmen. The Presidential Scholars Award (formerly named the Award of High Distinction) is an in-state tuition scholarship and is renewable. To apply for this scholarship, students must meet the following criteria:

  • Incoming freshman for Fall 2019
  • 3.8 cumulative high school GPA on a 4.0 scale
  • 30 ACT composite or 1390* SAT [Evidence-Based Reading and Writing]
  • Completed application for admission on file by December 3, 2018 including ACT or SAT test scores and official high school transcript
  • Completed application submitted to the Honors College by December 3, 2018

Students who do not have all completed credentials submitted by December 3, 2018 will not be eligible for the competition.

Incoming transfer students are not eligible for this competition.

Selected applicants will be required to interview on campus in late January. For Fall 2019 admission to BGSU, students may apply now. The Honors College application will be available here in August. To view information regarding the Honors College, click here.

*1300 for SAT taken prior to March 2016

Note: This scholarship has been awarded for Fall 2019.  All candidates have been notified if they have won the scholarship.  The scholarship will reopen for Fall 2020 on August 1st. 

Forsyth Scholarship

There are up to 30 Presidential Scholars Awards available. Of the 30 scholarship recipients, five students who will major in a science will be honored with the Forsyth Scholarship.

The Forsyth Scholarship honors the life and contributions of Jane Forsyth, one of Ohio’s pre-eminent scientists. Dr. Forsyth was a pioneer in her field. She was recognized as a leading authority on the glacial geology of Ohio and co-authored the first glacial geological map of the state. She taught at Bowling Green State University for 27 years where she studied the interrelationships between geology, botany and ecology long before interdisciplinary research in the sciences was popular.

Each year, Bowling Green State University selects five outstanding science students from the Presidential Scholars Award Competition to receive the Forsyth Scholarship. To be eligible for the Forsyth Scholarship, students must meet the criteria for the Presidential Scholars Award competition and intend to pursue a major in Biology, Chemistry, Geology or Physics. If selected, the recipients will receive a full fee scholarship that is renewable.