Three faculty honored for achievements by Leadership Council


Pictured left to right: Mike McGranaghan, Dr. David Reid, Ms. Donna Greenwald, Dr. Steve Cady, Steve Zirkel, and Michel Nouafo.

Four years ago the Leadership Council established Faculty Excellence Awards in three areas - teaching, using technology in the classroom to improve learning outcomes, and engagement with industry. The award winners are chosen by the Nominating and Governance Committee of the Leadership Council and are recognized with a plaque and an award of $5,000.

Presenting the awards at a recent luncheon were Steve Zirkel, Immediate Past Chair of the College’s Leadership Council, Mike McGranaghan, Chair, and Michel Nouafo, Vice-Chair.

The following are the 2017 Faculty Excellence Award winners:

Faculty Excellence Award in Teaching – Ms. Donna Greenwald, Lecturer, Department of Marketing. The committee was impressed with her emphasis on being a “facilitator” in the classroom, encouraging collaboration on projects, and devoting class time to active learning rather than lectures. Her approach to teaching reinforces skills that will prepare students for the working world – showing up in class prepared for the work at hand, thinking critically to solve problems, communicating and presenting their ideas, and working collaboratively with their team to solve business problems.

Faculty Excellence Award for Engagement with Industry – Dr. David Reid, Associate Professor, Department of Marketing. The committee noted David’s philosophy to work with industry to provide experiential learning opportunities in the classroom so that students are learning by solving real-world problems. Dr. Reid believes students must have the experiences they will encounter in the work place to develop critical skills to be successful sales professionals. He regularly has experienced professionals in the classroom to teach prospecting, negotiating, closing transactions, and provide feedback to the students in the context of problems they will face in business.

Updated: 12/01/2017 10:59PM