Student Marketing Chapter Among Best in the World Once Again

2015 AMA Awardweb

They have done it again! For the second consecutive year, the BGSU chapter of the American Marketing Association has earned the Bronze Chapter Award.  The Bronze status places our chapter in the top 5% of all chapters in the world (more than 350 chapters). This is also the tenth consecutive year the BGSU organization has been honored as an Outstanding AMA Chapter.

The BGSU marketing organization has been led by student Greg Hermes and the faculty advisor is Mearl Sutton, lecturer in the marketing department.

Sutton states, “This organization continues to amaze me.  Being one of the top chapters in the world is quite an accomplishment but somehow it’s even more fun being the top collegiate marketing organization in the state of Ohio.  Our students have learned to embrace adversity, proving that their ‘will to win’ can overcome the many obstacles that are laid in the path on their journey to success.”

According to Marketing Department Chair, Dr. Bob Wu, “This is a fantastic accomplishment given the size of our university and the small budget they have compared to other universities.”

At the international level, the student organizations are evaluated each year on the following criteria:

  • Professional Development
  • Community Service
  • Fundraising
  • Membership
  • Communication
  • Operations

Sutton explains the benefits of students getting involved in this marketing organization. “The goal is for its members is to supplement classroom learning to acquire a broad base of marketing management acumen while developing leadership skills as they manage their own organization.  It's operated like a business and goal-setting, team development, individual and team accountability are at the heart of the operation.”  

Pictured above:
Back Row, left to right: Mearl Sutton, Andrew Theiss, Sara Wilcom, Katrina Smiley, Brandon Stinson.
Front Row, left to right: Jane Swartz, Greg Hermes, Katrina Constancio, Blake Miller, Kyle Hart.
AMA officers not pictured include Cara Recker, Emily Double, Andrew Ludwig, Kyle Fugger, Ashley Woods, Zavia Currie, Clara Toth, and Phil Lesiak.

Updated: 12/01/2017 11:00PM