Master Teacher

The Student Alumni Connection (S.A.C.), in conjunction with the BGSU Office of Alumni and Development, is proud to announce their annual search for the

Student Alumni Connection

Master Teacher

This prestigious award allows both graduate and undergraduate students to participate by nominating one of the University’s professors.  The Master Teacher Award is the only student-driven and student-selected award given to a faculty member at BGSU. A time honored tradition beginning in 1982 the Master Teacher award is respected by faculty as one of the most coveted honors and recognitions at BGSU.

The Master Teacher Award process typically begins in the spring semester. A nomination call out will be presented to BGSU students giving them the opportunity to nominate faculty members deserving of this honor at the BGSU Main Campus as well as the BGSU Firelands Campus.

Once the nomination process concludes faculty members are notified of their nomination via email and invited to participate in the application process.

Phase one of the selection process requires that nominated faculty submit an application. Requested application materials typically include:

  • A vita including the following
    • Educational background and degrees attained
    • Brief job history at BGSU
    • Professional organizations/affiliations
    • A list of course numbers and titles of classes you have taught at the University
    • If applicable, involvement in and/or advising of BGSU student organizations
  • Short answer essay questions

Phase two narrows applicants down to a top 5, and from there phase three is reduced to a top 3.

The Master Teacher Award recipient receives:

  • A monetary award of $1,000
  • The honorable recognition of being named Master Teacher
  • A personal plaque
  • His/her name engraved on a permanent plaque at the Mileti Alumni Center
The following distinguished professors are past recipients of the Master Teacher Award and therefore are ineligible to receive the award in the future:
1982    Raymond Tucker

1983    Steven Ludd

1984    Peter Hutchinson

1985    Carl Holmberg

1986    Robert Romans

1987    Martha Rogers

1988    Elizabeth Allgeier

1989    M. Neil Browne

1990    Cynthia Stong

1991    Ruth (Olscamp) Pratt

1992    Lee Meserve

1993    W. Robert Midden

1994    Charles Kahle

1995    Vincent Kantorski

1996    Jack Nachbar

1997    Laura Jaurez de Ku

1998    Bonnie Fink

1999    Steven Rogelberg

2000    Tim Fuerst

2001    Daniel Brahier

2002    Irina Stakhanova

2003    Michael French

2004    Gene Poor

2005    Brett Holden

2006    Jeffrey Gordon

2007    Kenneth Snead

2008    Earl Boatwright

2009    Heath Diehl

2010    Robert DeBard

2011    Stephannie Gearhart

2012    Timothy Murnen

2013    Michael D. Coomes

2014    Craig Vickio

2015    Melissa Miller


If you have questions about the Master Teacher Award please contact the Office of Alumni and Development so we can best direct your inquiry

Updated: 12/02/2017 01:39AM