logo

Degree Candidates Deadlines

Degree Candidates Deadlines

Individual programs may establish earlier deadlines or guidelines for associated activities (e.g., signing up for comprehensive exams, submitting preliminary drafts of theses and dissertations, final examinations, etc.). The appropriate program handbook or graduate coordinator should be consulted. Students are reminded that it takes time for faculty to read theses, dissertations, and examinations with the rigor and care they deserve.

2016-2017 Dates to Remember - Printer-friendly PDF version

2017-2019 Dates to Remember - Printer-friendly PDF version


Fall Semester 2016
  • Tuesday, May 24
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Friday, July 8
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Sunday, September 18
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted on-line
  • Friday, November 11
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form, including all signatures, is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, November 18
    • Deposit of approved, error-free copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, December 2
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be received in the Office of Registration and Records by 5:00 p.m.
  • Friday, December 16
    • Graduate College Commencement

Spring Semester 2017
  • Tuesday, October 11
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Monday, December 5
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Thursday, January 26
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted on-line
  • Friday, March 31
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form including all signatures is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, April 7
    • Deposit of approved, error-free copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, April 21
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be received in the Office of Registration and Records by 5:00 p.m.
  • Friday, May 5
    • Graduate College Commencement

Summer Semester 2017
  • Monday, January 9
    • Admission to Ph.D. candidacy (approval of dissertation topic)
  • Monday, April 10
    • Approval of thesis topic
  • Monday, June 5
    • Graduation application deadline – must be submitted on-line
  • Friday, June 30
    • Completed Thesis/Dissertation Defense and Manuscript Form including all signatures is due in the Graduate College by 5:00 p.m.  Both sections of the form: Results of Final Exam and Manuscript Approval need to be fully completed.
  • Friday, July 7
    • Deposit of approved, error-free copy of master’s thesis/doctoral dissertation
  • Friday, July 21
    • Results of the capstone experience for ALL Plan II master’s degrees must be received in the Office of Registration and Records by 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 5
    • Graduate College Commencement

The Graduate College reserves the right to change these dates if necessary.