Sport Clubs

Sport clubs are formed and lead by students and provide the opportunity to engage in intercollegiate competition with representative teams from other clubs, colleges, and universities or to just enjoy structured sports activities with like-minded individuals.

Sport clubs present a unique learning opportunity for those students who choose to form, lead, and expand their clubs. Students elect their own officers, draft their own constitutions, determine practice days and times, schedule facility space, set up playing schedules with other teams, and locate and pay officials for home contests. Officers in sport clubs truly learn what the term "student development" means.

Membership in sport clubs is open to currently enrolled undergraduate students carrying a minimum of ten credits or graduate/non-traditional students with six credits. Every club needs at least ten active student members in good standing.

Listed below are BGSU's active Sport Club teams and contact information for a representative of each club and links to active organization web sites. Direct additional questions and inquiries to the Sport Clubs Office: 419.372.2464.

SportContactEmail
BaseballBryson Lenderman
blender@bgsu.edu
Basketball (W)Kaela Howardhowarkm@bgsu.edu
BowlingBrady Dunigan
bradyd@bgsu.edu
CurlingJacob Fowler
jwfowle@bgsu.edu
DodgeballReid Mangermangerr@bgsu.edu
EquestrianGabrielle Miller
megabri@bgsu.edu
Figure SkatingPrecious Jackson
prjacks@bgsu.edu
GymnasticsKelsi Kuprat
kkuprat@bgsu.edu
Ice Hockey (M)Austin Murphyaamurph@bgsu.edu
Judo & GrapplingAmy Palmeramitap@bgsu.edu
Lacrosse (W)Shantrell Fouche
sfouche@bgsu.edu
bgsu.lax@gmail.com
Lacrosse (M)Robert Fountain
rhfount@bgsu.edu
Rugby (M)Anthony Boddy
aboddy@bgsu.edu
Rugby (W)Tanja Vierrether
vierret@bgsu.edu
Soccer (M)Stephen O'Connor
soconno@bgsu.edu
Soccer (W)Janna Deyhlejdeyhle@bgsu.edu
Softball (W)Allison Gardner
angardn@bgsu.edu
Swimming/DivingColton Shaw
cwshaw@bgsu.edu
TennisArie Sproutasprout@bgsu.edu
Track & Field/XCDan Durkin
ddurkin@bgsu.edu
Ultimate FrisbeeLogan Holtmanloganah@bgsu.edu
Volleyball (M)Jake Elstonjelston@bgsu.edu
Volleyball (W)Megan Semlermsemler@bgsu.edu
Water Polo
Hannah Rust
hrust@bgsu.edu
bgclubwaterpolo@gmail.com
Water Ski
Sam Kronourskronou@bgsu.edu

Cost

Individual cost varies from club to club depending on funding from the Office of Campus Activities, donations, and fundraising.

Registration

Individuals or groups of students can apply for official sponsorship as a competitive club. To register a new club, make an appointment with the Coordinator of Competitive Sports.

Existing clubs or student organizations may not be duplicated. Other factors in considering new requests involve risk management and liability issues, availability of facilities, funding, regional competition and a club's potential overall contribution to the University community. 

Coaches

Teams can select volunteer coaches for their club based on the individual’s knowledge and experience in the desired sport. Coaches need not be affiliated with BGSU but must be approved by the Coordinator of Competitive Sports. 

Returning Clubs

Team Registration occurs each fall with the completion of the Sport Club Updates Form being submitted by an officer of each club to the Sport Clubs Office. The information submitted reflects the club's goals and objectives and provides the Sport Clubs staff details to share with prospective members upon receiving inquiries. A completed Sport Club Updates Form can be submitted via an email attachment or in person to the Sport Clubs Office located at 130 Perry Field House.