Club Sports

Club sports are formed and lead by students and provide the opportunity to engage in intercollegiate competition with representative teams from other clubs, colleges, and universities or to just enjoy structured sports activities with like-minded individuals.

Club sports present a unique learning opportunity for those students who choose to form, lead, and expand their clubs. Students elect their own officers, draft their own constitutions, determine practice days and times, schedule facility space, set up playing schedules with other teams, and locate and pay officials for home contests. Officers in club sports truly learn what the term "student development" means.

Membership in club sports is open to currently enrolled undergraduate students carrying a minimum of nine credits or graduate/non-traditional students with six credits. Every club needs at least ten active student members in good standing.

Listed below are BGSU's active Club Sports teams, contact information for a representative of each club, and links to active organization web sites. Direct additional questions and inquiries to the Club Sports Office: 419.372.2464.

SportContactEmail
BaseballBailey Balnton
blantob@bgsu.edu
Basketball (W)Madeline Collins
mlcolli@bgsu.edu
BowlingBrady Dunigan
bradyd@bgsu.edu
DodgeballCole Wilson
colew@bgsu.edu
EquestrianKira McCarty
ktmccar@bgsu.edu
Figure SkatingSarah Gillen
sgillen@bgsu.edu
GymnasticsBrittany Steighner
steigbn@bgsu.edu
Ice Hockey (M)Ryan Durkinrdurkin@bgsu.edu
Ice Hockey (W)Ellen Padgettepadget@bgsu.edu
Judo & GrapplingAmitabha Palmer
amitap@bgsu.edu
Lacrosse (M)Anthony Mercuriamercur@bgsu.edu
Lacrosse (W)Alex Nader
arnader@bgsu.edu
Rugby (M)Mason Carriero
macarri@bgsu.edu
Rugby (W)Lauren Lukasko
llukask@bgsu.edu
Soccer (M)Stephen O'Connor
soconno@bgsu.edu
Soccer (W)Julia Petersonjuliap@bgsu.edu
Softball (W)Bailey Gadd
bgadd@bgsu.edu
SpikeballRyan Bissman
rbissma@bgsu.edu
Spirit SkatersPrecious Jacksonprjacks@bgsu.edu
Swimming/DivingGena Leib
gmleib@bgsu.edu
TennisCaleb Punty
calebp@bgsu.edu
Track & Field/XCLily Kramer
kramerl@bgsu.edu
Ultimate FrisbeeLogan Holtmanloganah@bgsu.edu
Volleyball (M)Jacob Larsenjlarsen@bgsu.edu
Volleyball (W)Anna Kiesewetter
Madison Dunn
kanna@bgsu.edu
mldunn@bgsu.edu
Water Polo
Emily Eskuri
eeskuri@bgsu.edu
bgclubwaterpolo@gmail.com
Water Ski and Wakeboard
Rachel Long
relong@bgsu.edu

Cost

Individual cost varies from club to club depending on funding from the Office of Campus Activities, donations, and fundraising.

Registration

Individuals or groups of students can apply for official sponsorship as a competitive club. To register a new club, make an appointment with the Assistant Director of Recreation and Wellness; Nashid Bracy.

nbracy@bgsu.edu | 419.372.8110

Existing clubs or student organizations may not be duplicated. Other factors in considering new requests involve risk management and liability issues, availability of facilities, funding, regional competition and a club's potential overall contribution to the University community. 

Coaches

Teams can select volunteer coaches for their club based on the individual’s knowledge and experience in the desired sport. Coaches need not be affiliated with BGSU but must be approved by Recreation and Wellness. 

Returning Clubs

Team Registration occurs each fall with the completion of the Club Sports Updates Form being submitted by an officer of each club to the Club Sports Office. The information submitted reflects the club's goals and objectives and provides the Club Sports staff details to share with prospective members upon receiving inquiries. A completed Club Sports Updates Form can be submitted via an email attachment or in person to the Club Sports Office located at 130 Perry Field House.

Men's Rugby: 2019 National Champions

Women's Rugby: 2019 Nash Bash Tournament Champions

Bowling: 2018-2019 American Heartland Intercollegiate Conference Championship Winner

Waterski: Alumna Ali Mollet won national Collegiate water Ski Association's Outstanding Leader of the Year for 2018

Women's Basketball: Final Four in NIRSA Regional Basketball Championships

Women's Lacrosse: 2019 Playoffs in Detroit

Dodgeball: 2019 Dodgeball Cup Champions

Men's Volleyball: Top 7 in Conference Finals

Hockey: Winners of the Gary Baldwin Memorial Tournament