Physics and Astronomy

Kate Dellenbusch

Position: Lecturer
Phone: 419-372-7850
Email: dellenk@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 109 OH

Marco Nardone

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-9644
Email: marcon@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 169 Overman Hall

Lewis P. Fulcher

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-2635
Email: fulcher@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 167 OH

John B. Laird

Position: Professor, Chair
Phone: 419-372-7244
Email: laird@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 104C OH

Andrew C. Layden

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-8653
Email: laydena@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 112 OH
Research: We are using the BGSU 0.5-meter telescope and CCD camera to monitor the brightness and color changes over time of a number of variable stars. Currently, we are focusing on a specific class of variables called Mira stars, which pulsate in size, temperature and luminosity. Our goal is to determine the brightness and color variations in these stars, and to determine the time it takes to complete a pulsation cycle, and compare their properties in different environments within the Milky Way galaxy.

Eric S. Mandell

Position: Lecturer
Phone: 419-372-8108
Email: meric@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 173 OH

Allen B. Rogel

Position: Lecturer
Phone: 419-372-8014
Email: abrogel@bgnet.bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 111 OH

Farida A. Selim

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-9956
Email: faselim@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 172 OH

Dale W. Smith

Position: Professor
Phone: 419-372-8666
Email: dsmith@newton.bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 110 PSLB

Liangfeng Sun

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-7245
Email: lsun@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 115 PSLB

Click Here for More Information

Glenn P. Tiede

Position: Senior Lecturer
Phone: 419-372-8707
Email: gptiede@bgnet.bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 114 OH

Haowen Xi

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-2389
Email: haowenxi@hotmail.com
Address: Office: 165 OH

Mikhail Zamkov

Position: Associate Professor
Phone: 419-372-0264
Email: zamkovm@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 103 PSLB

Alexey T. Zayak

Position: Assistant Professor
Phone: 419-372-9937
Email: azayak@bgsu.edu
Address: Office: 171 OH

Click Here for More Information