Register for SOAR

Where to begin?

Please follow steps 1 through 6 below to sign up for SOAR. If you have issues completing your SOAR reservation, call New Student Orientation at 419-372-0353 for assistance.

Step 1: Create your MYBGSU account

Use the BGSU ID Number on your Certificate of Admission from the Office of Admissions to set-up and activate your MyBGSU Account.

Activate your MyBGSU Account

Step 2: Regularly check your BGSU email

BGSU will use this email address to communicate important information to you.

Log into BGSU email Set-up BGSU email on mobile device

Step 3: Reserve your date for SOAR

Space is limited in each session. When you make your reservation, it is possible that some of the dates listed below will no longer be available.

Spring 2019 - Full-Day Program

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
January Friday, January 25 November 5, 2018

Summer/Fall 2019 - Full-Day Program

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
June Thursday, June 6
Friday, June 7
Saturday, June 8
March 11, 2019
June Tuesday, June 11
Wednesday, June 12
Thursday, June 13
Friday, June 14
March 11, 2019
June Thursday, June 20
Friday, June 21
Saturday, June 22
March 11, 2019
June Wednesday, June 26
Thursday, June 27
Friday, June 28
Saturday, June 29
March 11, 2019
July Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
March 11, 2019

Fall 2019 - Full-Day Program

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
August Tuesday, August 20 July 15, 2019

Spring 2019 - Partial-Day Program

9:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. options

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
November Tuesday, November 6 September 19, 2018
December Tuesday, December 11 September 19, 2018
January
Tuesday, January 8 November 5, 2018

Spring 2019 - Full-Day Program

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
January Friday, January 25 November 5, 2018

Summer/Fall 2019 - Partial-Day Program

9:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. options

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
April Tuesday, April 23 March 11, 2019
May Wednesday, May 22 March 11, 2019
June Wednesday, June 19 March 11, 2019
July Thursday, July 11 March 11, 2019
August Monday, August 5 July 15, 2019
August Monday, August 19 July 15, 2019

Fall 2019 - Full-Day Program

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
August Tuesday, August 20 July 15, 2019

Summer/Fall 2019

Month Orientation Dates
Registration Open
April Wednesday, April 24 March 11, 2019

Step 4: Print your E-confirmation packet

You should have received an E-confirmation packet in your bgsu email inbox. Make sure you print out this file. If you haven't yet received your E-confirmation packet or have lost it, please click on the applicable link below.

First-Year, First-Time Students

Transfer Students (9:00 AM SOAR session)

Transfer Students (11:00 AM SOAR session)

Step 5: Complete writing placement essay

Complete your online writing placement essay and revision plan at least two weeks before attending SOAR.

Learn more about the placement essay

Step 6: Check out your next steps

Prior to your on-campus visit for SOAR, visit our Next Steps page. The site includes important information and a checklist of things to do and read before and after attending SOAR.

Step 7: Plan your visit

It is our goal to make this process run as smooth as possible so it important to plan out details such as arrival times before you come. If you are coming from out of town please review the directions to campus and local overnight accommodations.