The Center for Archival Collections is accepting submissions for the Local History Publication Award. Works published between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020 will be accepted.  

The Center for Archival Collections seeks to encourage and recognize authors for outstanding publications in the field of Local History.  For this award Local History is geographically defined as the nineteen counties within the Center’s collecting scope (Allen, Crawford, Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Huron, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood and Wyandot) The Firelands, and Maumee Valley Region.


The Awards Committee will recognize authors for outstanding publications in two divisions. The Academic Scholar Division will include works prepared and submitted by authors who are professional writers or academicians. The Independent Scholar Division will include works prepared and submitted by independent or local researchers, amateurs, and other creative writers who do not claim “history” as a profession.  Each Division winner will receive a $300.00 cash award and plaque.


  1. The awards will be given for works of either general or specific subject interests (i.e. Native American history, prehistoric, territorial and early statehood, War of 1812, Civil War, business history, women’s history, labor history, family history, historic preservation, rural agricultural history, Great Lakes maritime (Ohio) history, or biography).
  2. Any work submitted for the awards must have been copyrighted or published in the past year preceding the year in which the award is given.
  3. Works shall be judged by the Awards Committee on: literary merit, overall significance and contribution to explaining and understanding the history of the above described region. Consideration also will be given for style and content. Other considerations will include grammar, accuracy, illustrations, layout, indexes, and distribution.
  4. The Awards Committee and the Center for Archival Collections reserves the right not to present the awards during any given year.

Submission Guidelines

  1. Authors should send two copies of each work to:
    Center for Archival Collections
    Jerome Library, 5th Floor
    Bowling Green State University
    Bowling Green, Ohio 43403-0175

    The two copies become the property of The Center. Submissions are due by March 31, 2021.
  2. Works are identified as either published monographs or articles and must be under one cover.
  3. Textbooks, guidebooks, manuals, craft books, works of fiction, newspaper articles, and genealogies composed principally of genealogical charts are NOT eligible for consideration.