Annually, the BGSU Ice Arena awards a summer scholarship designed to offset the cost of ice time to rising competitive figure skaters.  The award winner receives an engraved plaque, recognition in local publications and $250.00 of ice time during the skating season at the BGSU Ice Arena.

*Please note, due to construction during the summer of 2017 the recipient of the 2017 Rose Scholarship will be able to use the funds awarded throughout the 2017-2018 season on figure skating ice time or programming at the Slater Family Ice Arena.

Scholarship Selection Criteria 

  1. Demonstrates a committed interest in, and an ability in figure skating
  2. Attended skating sessions on a regular basis throughout the skating season with a focus on improving and progressing throughout the sport.
  3. Passed at least the US Figure Skating Pre-Preliminary Freestyle Test or all three Preliminary Dance Tests
  4. Well rounded participation in figure skating activities.
  5. Demonstrates positive behavior on the ice acting as a role model for beginning skaters.


2017 Marissa Rose memorial Scholarship

Submission Deadline: April 14, 2017

Announcement            Application

For additional information contact Laura Fischer:
Phone: 419.372.8686


Current and Past Scholarships Descriptions

  • Scott Hamilton Award: Named in honor of Scott Hamilton, Bowling Green native, 2 time Olympian and 4 time World Figure Skating Champion. 
  • Kay Thurman Award: Named in honor of former BGSU Ice Arena Business Manager.
  • Dr. F. Fred Householder Award: Named in memory of Bowling Green Figure Skating Club long time member and supporter. 
  • Ruby Ginke Award: Named in memory of Bowling Green Skating Club judge and long time member.
  • Marissa Rose Memorial Scholarship: Named in memory of 16 year old Bowling Green Skating Club member.


Scholarship Contributions

Continuing scholarship contributions may be made to the Bowling Green State University Foundation - Ice Arena Fund:

Mail to:

BGSU Foundation Inc.
Mileti Alumni Center
Bowling Green, OH 43403
(Include 30-000570 in memo line)

A complete name and address is necessary if a receipt is desired.  All donations are tax deductible.

Scholarship Winners 1974 - Present

  Scott Hamilton Award Kay Thurman Award Dr. F. Fred Householder Award Ruby Grinke Award Marissa Rose Memorial Scholarship
2012         Edith Lui
2011 Edith Lui Scott Wenner Ann Williams Harmonee Morgan Emily Scherreik
2010         Scott Wenner
2009         Kelsey Lahey
2008 Scott Wenner Emily Scherreik Larissa Barman Sebastian Huber Michelle Rabb
2007 Kelsey Lahey Courtney Van Horn Savannah Kruse Molly Kerr  
2006 Andrea Bellman Lexi Perrault Morgan Cheung Melanie Laughlin  
2005 Emily Laughlin Kelsey Lahey Courtney Van Horn Olivia LaFond  
2004 Marissa Rose Danielle Kuhn Michelle Raab Melanie Laughlin  
2003 Olivia LaFond Lauren Desko Kelli Alexander Emily Laughlin  
2002 Lauren Desko Amy Czubinski Emily Laughlin Danielle Leach  
2001 Megan Bellman Hannah Phillips Nicole Vellinga Kaitlin Miller  
2000 Laura Dunn Caitlin Lanseer Kate Bresnan Melissa Telecky  
1999 Ashleigh Behrendt Danielle Barnhisel Melissa Telecky Katie Anthony  
1998 Alissa Czisny Amber Czisny Ted Ostrowski Lisa Chambers  
1997 Laura Dunn Melissa Telecky Monica Birsen Don Bradner  
1996 Nealy Sarver Laura Meyers Amber Czisny Alissa Czisny  
1995 Kate Sockrider Amber Czisny Alissa Czisny Carly Nutter  
1994 Lauren Brandau Rebecca Clemons Stefanie Lopez Nealy Sarver  
1993 Stefanie Lopez Jennifer C. White Kate Sockrider Meredith Piersol  
1992 Bridie Myles Adrean Ware Laura Meyers Taegen Sullivan  
1991 Chrissy Wolfe Amy Marlowe Heather Bobel Kelly Grimm  
1990 Erin Richter Dawn Loucks Amanda Adryslak Sarah Lane  
1988 Kathleen Eckert        
1987 Kelly Thorbahn Beth Mura      
1986 Kristen Lee        
1984 Kelly Wilson        
1983 Jamie Eubank Laura Green
Kelly Wilson
Julie Olney
Julie Bhaer
1982 Shelly Strow Julie Olney
Michelle Jankowski
Laura Green
Gretchen Wilhelm
1981 Laura Green Stacy Fair
Julie Olney
Tyna Sandberg
1980 Karl Crandall Karl Crandall
Tyna Sandberg
Erika Crandall
Laura Green
1979 Chris Hefner Cindy McKinney
Tanya Essen
Karl Crandall
Shelly Strow
Sarah Martin
Heide Crandall
1978 Lona Johnson Larry Kim
Shelly Strow
1977 Sarah Martin Cindy Irmen      
1976   Cindy Irmen
Margaret Brennan
Jani Diehl
Kalinda Aaron
Erika Crandall
1975   Bonnie Marshall      
1974   Tammy Strayer
Zan Zimmerman
Margaret Brennan
Erin O' Connor