Forsyth Award

This special recognition is given to scholar students with an outstanding academic record and who plan to major in one of the School of Earth, Environment and Society.  The Forsyth Award is awarded to students who receive the Presidential Scholars Award and plan to major in Geology, Environmental Science, Environmental Policy and Analysis, or Geography.

Students who win the Forsyth Award will receive:

  • Full In-State Tuition, renewable
  • Mentorship from faculty and students in your major
  • Participate in Presidential Scholars Award scholarship program.

You will need the following to qualify for the Forsyth Award:

  • 3.8 cumulative high school GPA on a 4.0 scale
  • 30 ACT composite or 1390 SAT [Evidence-Based Reading and Writing]
  • Major is Geology, Environmental Science, Environmental Policy and Analysis or Geography
  • Must be admitted to BGSU and complete a separate Honors College application by Nov. 15 with ACT/SAT test scores and official highschool transcript. 

The Forsyth Award honors the accomplishments and memory of Dr. Jane Forsyth, a professor emerita of geology.  Dr. Forsyth was a leading authority on the glacial geology of Ohio and co-authored the first glacial geologic map of the state.  She taught at BGSU for 27 years, studying the interrelationships among geology, botany, and ecology long before interdisciplinary research in the sciences was popular.  It is in recognition of her many professional accomplishments as a scientist, her love and knowledge of the natural world, and her willingness to share it with others that BGSU awards the Forsyth Award.


Learn about Chloe Koon '22, this year's Forsyth Award winner.

Updated: 05/08/2023 04:11PM