Student Ambassadors

Applications for the 2022-2023 Academic Year are now OPEN!

To apply:

  1. Complete the application
  2. Within the application you will find a space to list a faculty member to serve as a reference. We will send them a separate link as a final step in the application process. 

If you were nominated by a faculty member we will send you the application to complete. 

Interviews will take place after the application process has closed. 

Applications Due: January 31st


Student-Ambassador-Group

Student Ambassadors
The EDHD Student Ambassadors exist to create opportunities for student leaders to enhance their personal and professional capabilities through supporting the goals, values, and ideals of the College of Education and Human Development.  EDHD Student Ambassadors help to provide insight into the challenges and celebrations affecting its students and promote the college to prospective students and their families.  The EDHD Student Ambassadors represent the college at university functions and events, and provide information on the many majors and programs available to prospective and current students. EDHD Student Ambassadors remain ambassadors to the college even after graduation.

Mission
As a student ambassador for the College of Education and Human Development, you will engage with current students, and prospective students and their families to promote and support the goals of the College. Furthermore, EDHD Student Ambassadors work to broaden the College’s identity on a local, regional, and national level, and contribute to the Bowling Green community and Northwest Ohio by participating in several service projects. 
 
Membership 
All undergraduate students currently enrolled in a program or major within the College of Education and Human Development are eligible for membership. Potential members must be in good academic standing and must remain in good standing during their tenure as an ambassador. 
 
Students interested in becoming a Student Ambassador must first solicit a nomination by an EDHD faculty member. After the nomination is received, candidates are asked to participate in an interview with members of the executive board and the staff advisor.

If you are interested in becoming an EDHD Student Ambassador, complete the application at the top of the page.
 
Membership is open to students of BGSU without regard to sex, gender identity, genetic information, gender expression, sexual orientation, race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, marital status, disability, pregnancy, military status, age, or status as a Special Disabled or Vietnam-era veteran.

Member Requirements
Members are required to attend all general meetings. Members that cannot attend a meeting must notify the secretary prior to the meeting date. Members are also required to volunteer at various events and functions throughout the year.

Meetings
EDHD Student Ambassadors meet as a general assembly once a month. The executive board may call a special meeting of the general assembly when necessary.
 
Social Engagement and Professional Development
Student Ambassadors host a minimum of one social engagement or professional development program per semester. During these events, students have the opportunity to engage with other students, represent and promote the College and learn about trends and issues in the workplace.  
 
Events and Programs
EDHD Student Ambassadors participate in various events and programs throughout the academic year. The events and programs include, but are not limited to:

  • Homecoming tent and various other Homecoming activities
  • Visits by dignitaries
  • President’s day 
  • Preview day and Education day
  • Dean’s list celebrations
  • Major Match-Up
  • Alumni golf outing
  • Capstone day
  • Scholarship awards luncheon

Community Service 
Throughout the academic year, student ambassadors work together with other EDHD students to participate in various community service projects for the city of Bowling Green and surrounding communities.  

Learn more about the 2020-2021 Ambassadors here

2020-2021 Executive Board

  • President: Michael Britten 
  • Vice President: Nichole Wente
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Morgan Sims
  • Community Outreach Coordinator: Ashley Post
  • Historian: Katelyn Michael

2021- 2022 Student Ambassadors

Lizzy Frey elizaf@bgsu.edu Exercise Science
Jennifer Watley jwatley@bgsu.edu Human Developmt & Family Students
Sophia DeBord sdebord@bgsu.edu Intervention Specialist
Abby Adler aadler@bgsu.edu Interior Design
Arianna Bustos abustos@bgsu.edu Adolescence to Young Adult Edu: ILA
Hailey Diana hdiana@bgsu.edu Adolescence to Young Adult Edu: ILA
Ashley Post posta@bgsu.edu Adolescence to Young Adult Edu: Math
Nichole Wente nawente@bgsu.edu Adolescence to Young Adult Edu: Math
Kayla Kindle kaykind@bgsu.edu Exercise Science
Jessica Haught haughtj@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Ashleigh Diefenbach adiefen@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Ryan Knuff knuffr@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Jenna Teet jteet@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Kelsea Blaskis kblaski@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Michael Britten brittem@bgsu.edu Indivualized Studies
Katelyn Michael michkat@bgsu.edu Interior Design
Abigail Pollex apollex@bgsu.edu Tourism, Hospitality, and Event Manaagement
Faith Vermilyea faithv@bgsu.edu Adolescence to Young Adult Edu: SS
Kassidy Lefevre klefevr@bgsu.edu Human Developmt & Family Students
Kristin Coleman kmcolem@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Grace Cassidy gcassid@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Morgan Sims masims@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Olivia Matlack omatlac@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Avery Ross akross@bgsu.edu Intervention Specialist
Emily Simmons easimmo@bgsu.edu Middle Childhood Education
Madeline Theiss mtheiss@bgsu.edu Sport Mangaement
Emma Lamont lemma@bgsu.edu Workforce: FCS
Hannah Grabke hgrabke@bgsu.edu Adolescence to Young Adult Edu: Science
Trey Battin tbattin@bgsu.edu Exercise Science
Henry Brandstaetter hbrands@bgsu.edu Middle Childhood Education
Sammy Theis stheis@bgsu.edu Inclusive Early Childhood
Troy Brown btroy@bgsu.edu Workforce: BME
Sara Schultz smsara@bgsu.edu Workforce: FCS

For more information about the EDHD student ambassador program, please contact:
Claire Hoover
Administrator of Undergraduate Recruitment and Retention
419.372.1003
choover@bgsu.edu