Monday, May 9, 2016  

Board of Trustees wrapup | Faculty granted tenure, promotion

When it reopens for fall semester as the new home of the School of Media and Communication, South Hall will be renamed The Michael & Sara Kuhlin Center.

Board approves faculty contract, administrative fees

The Bowling Green State University Board of Trustees on May 6 approved the next collective bargaining agreement with the BGSU Faculty Association. The three-year agreement takes effect July 1, 2016. The faculty association had ratified the tentative agreement in April. President Mary Ellen Mazey and BGSU-FA President David Jackson signed it at the trustees’ end-of-semester meeting.

The University and the Faculty Association used the collaborative interest-based bargaining method to develop the contract, which provides for salary increases of 3 percent annually over the three-year agreement. It also addresses other issues such as shared governance, academic freedom, faculty review and professional development.

“We are extremely pleased, both with the collegiality of the process and the outcome,” President Mary Ellen Mazey said. “The agreement lays the foundation for closer collaboration with our faculty, which will strengthen our university and help us continue to meet the needs of our students.”

Also at the meeting, the trustees addressed academic, infrastructure and capital project matters. In addition to granting tenure and promotion and emeritus status to a number of faculty, they approved the naming of two campus areas.


Kinney on Beyoncé cultural reference – Fusion

Criminal justice master’s named to top 50 programs – Sys-Con Media

Miller on future of John Kasich – WTOL, 13ABC

Anthony Doerr on research for “All the Light We Cannot See” – Columbus Dispatch

Faculty climb academic ladder with tenure, promotion

The BGSU Board of Trustees acknowledged and celebrated the accomplishments of faculty from a number of colleges and the University Libraries May 6 with the granting of promotions and for some, tenure.

Promotion to full professor
  • Heather Elliott-Famularo, art
  • Dr. Sandra Faulkner, media and communication
  • Dr. Andrew Hershberger, art
  • Dr. Sung-Yeon Park, media and communication
  • Dr. Michael Weber, philosophy
  • Kevin Schempf, music performance studies
  • Dr. Mary Murray, intervention services
  • Dr. Dawn Shinew, teaching and learning
  • Dr. Dafina-Lazarus Stewart, higher education and student affairs
  • Dr. Maureen Wilson, higher education and student affairs
  • Dr. Michael Kimaid, natural and social sciences, BGSU Firelands
  • Dr. Cynthia Miglietti, applied sciences, BGSU Firelands
  • Dr. Philip Weinsier, applied sciences, BGSU Firelands

Emeritus status granted

Fifteen retired or retiring faculty members were conferred emeritus status by the Board of Trustees Friday. Read about them in Zoom News May 19.

Zoom News summer schedule

Following this issue, Zoom News will be published once a week, on Thursdays, until mid-August.