

# CHARLES E. SHANKLIN COLLOQUIUM & GSS AWARDS RECEPTION

April 5, 2023



BOWLING GREEN STATE UNIVERSITY

**Bowling Green State University** 

**Bowen-Thompson Student Union 202A** 

6:45-7:15pm: Award Reception

7:15pm-9:00pm: Evening Program

# **Opening Remarks**

Nick Malendowski, Graduate Student Senate Vice President

# Welcome

Dr. Rodney Rogers, BGSU President

# **Graduate College Awards**

Remarks and Awards presented by: Dr. Jennifer Waldron, Dean of the Graduate College

#### **2022 Distinguished Thesis Award**

**Kristen Gustafson** (Sociology)

## **2022 Distinguished Dissertation Award**

**Brian Timm** (Sociology)

#### **Fall 2022 Katzner Awards**

Joshua Heaney (Contemporary Music)

Marquise Henry (Biological Sciences)

**Thomas Paul** (Forensic Science)

BOWLING GREEN STATE UNIVERSIT

#### **Spring 2023 Katzner Awards**

**Jinx Mylo** (School of Media and Communication)

**Carollynn Judge** (Forensic Science)

Adam Smith (Sociology)

# **2022 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award**

**Thomas Wheeler** (Music Performance)

#### **2022 Outstanding Teaching Associate Award**

Michelle Nguyen (Rhetoric and Writing Studies)

#### **2022 Distinguished Studio Arts Award**

Hayden Stacki (Music Composition)

#### **BGSU Three Minute Thesis Competition**

1<sup>st</sup>: Chinwendu Akalonu (Media and Communication)

2<sup>nd</sup>: Jeremiah Adesanya (Biological Sciences)

3<sup>rd</sup>: **Alonzo Johnson** (Industrial-Organizational Psychology)

# **Center for Faculty Excellence Teaching and Learning Certificate Recipients**

Julia Christine Bell

**Amir Khan** 

(Criminal Justice)

(Media and Communication)

Anna DeGalan

Sara Lucak

(Media and Communication)

(Criminal Justice)

**Matthew Dorr** 

Nick Malendowski

(Media and Communication)

(College Student Personnel)

Joseph Duda

Jinx Mylo

(Philosophy)

(Media and Communication)

Sadia Farooq

Michelle Nguyen

(Media and Communication)

(English)

**Tara Hites** 

Grady Stuckman

(Food and Nutrition)

(Philosophy)

**Kristine Ketel** 

**Amonia Tolofari** 

(American Culture Studies)

(Media and Communication)

**Kathryn Ware** 

(Biological Sciences)

# **Graduate Student Senate Remarks**

Amanda Grace Taylor, Graduate Student Senate President

# **Graduate Student Senate Awards**

Awards presented by: Amanda Grace Taylor, Graduate Student Senate President, and Nick Malendowski, Graduate Student Senate Vice President

#### **Outstanding Contributor to Graduate Education**

Nominees:

Dr. Sungho Cho

(HMSLS)

Dr. Joseph Coy-Furgal

(Chemistry)

Dr. Julia Halo

(Biological Sciences)

**Dr. Catherine Stein** 

(Psychology)

Dr. Benjamin Ward

(Mathematics)

Dr. Jari Willing

(Psychology)

# **Outstanding Graduate Student Award**

Nominees:

Mian Adnan

(Applied Statistics)

**Wesley Barnhart** 

(Clinical Psychology)

**Judith Clemens-Smucker** 

(American Culture Studies)

**Natalie Dignoti** 

(Cross-Cultural and International Education)

Jessica Felton

(English)

**David Michael Fisher** 

(Higher Education Administration)

**Christopher Julian** 

(Sociology)

Sara Lucak

(Criminal Justice)

**Bridget Murphy** 

(Speech-Language Pathology)

**Tomiwa Omotesho** 

(Applied Statistics)

Hazika Reshi

(Financial Economics)

Stefano Romero

(Physical Therapy)

**Cassidy Shankar** 

(Forensic Science)

**Shudipta Sharma** 

(Media and Communication)

**Emma Studer Perez** 

(Clinical Psychology)

**Madison Wagner** 

(Biological Sciences)

**Hsin-Chieh Wei** 

(Applied Statistics)

**Catherine Zoleta** 

(Clinical Psychology)

## **Outstanding International Graduate Student Award**

Nominees:

**Felicity Sena Dogbatse** 

(Media and Communication)

Smriti Maharjan

(Architecture)

**Tomiwa Omotesho** 

(Applied Statistics)

Hazika Reshi

(Financial Economics)

Shudipta Sharma

(Media and Communication)

**Abass Suara** 

(Sport Administration)

'Applied Statistics)

**Hsin-Chieh Wei** 

BOWLINOutstanding Research Assistant-1 Award/ERSITY

Nominees:

Chioma Amadi

(Leadership Studies)

**Kaoutar Benchouk** 

(Higher Education Administration)

**Leanne Confer** 

(Sociology)

**Krys Ingman** 

(English)

**Christopher Julian** 

(Sociology)

**Cory Sims** 

(Photochemical Sciences)

#### **Outstanding Research Assistant-2 Award**

Nominees:

Rene Ayala

Amanda Anastasia Paniagua

(American Culture Studies)

(Higher Education Administration)

**Natalie Dignoti** 

Silvia Sharna

(Cross-Cultural and International Education)

(Data Science)

**Ghada Itayem** 

**Sydney Snyder** 

(Higher Education Administration)

(Communication Disorders)

**Erin Main** 

Hsin-Chieh Wei

(Art)

(Applied Statistics)

## **GSS Senator of the Year**

## **GSS Senate Executive Committee Member of the Year**

# **Outstanding Colloquium Poster Presentation**

Nominees:

Jeremiah Adesanya

Victoria Main

(Biological Sciences)

(Media and Communication)

**Wesley Barnhart** 

Victoria Riesgo

(Clinical Psychology)

(Clinical Psychology)

**Ghada Itayem** 

**Toby Shaya** 

(Higher Education Administration)

(Biological Sciences)

Maria Kalantzis

**Cory Sims** 

(Clinical Psychology)

(Photochemical Sciences)

#### **Outstanding Colloquium Paper Presentation**

Nominees:

**Allyson Ball** 

Maria Kalantzis

(Social Work)

(Clinical Psychology)

**Wesley Barnhart** 

Victoria Main

(Clinical Psychology)

(Media and Communication)

**Gwyneth Burns** 

**Samuel Morkal-Williams** 

(American Culture Studies)

(Philosophy)

**Emma Calow** 

Jinx Mylo

(American Culture Studies)

(Media and Communication)

**Kassidy Fark** 

Michael Ofori

(Kinesiology)

(Media and Communication)

Andrea Freimuth

Jeevani Sammeta

(American Culture Studies)

(Media and Communication)

**Krys Ingman** 

**Madison Smith** 

(English)

(History)

**Shanklin Creative Expression Contest: Performative Arts** 

Victoria Main

Jeevani Sammeta

(Media and Communication)

(Media and Communication)

**Shanklin Creative Expression Contest: Visual Arts** 

BOWLING GREEN STATE UNIVERSITY

**Erin Main** 

**Prisca Omugbe** 

(Art)

(Applied Statistics)

**Tinatei Tunyan** 

(Art)

# The Charles E. Shanklin Awards for Research Excellence

Remarks and Awards presented by Dr. Joe B. Whitehead, BGSU Provost

#### **Social and Behavioral Sciences**

**Kasandra Fager** 

**Alannah Graves** 

(History)

(History)

#### **Science and Mathematics**

**Abigail Jarosz** 

**Madison Wagner** 

(Biological Sciences)

(Biological Sciences)

#### **Arts and Humanities**

**Judith Clemens-Smucker** 

**Nicolas Schofield** 

(American Culture Studies)

(German)



Congratulations to all nominees and awardees!

Thank you for attending!

# **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

#### **Graduate Student Senate, Senate Executive Committee**

Oluwaseun Olajire Adeyemo

Chinwendu Akalonu

Felicity Sena Dogbatse

David Michael Fisher

Emmanuel LaDapo

Victoria Main

Nick Malendowski

Michael Ofori

Amanda Anastasia Paniagua

Mikayla Russ

Adam Smith

Abass Opeyemi Suara

Amanda Grace Taylor

Katie Ware

#### **Shanklin Award for Research Excellence Preliminary Judges**

Dr. Brent Archer

Dr. Tim Brackenbury

Dr. Amelia Carr

Dr. Malcolm D.E. Forbes

Dr. Amy French

Dr. Yuning Fu

Dr. Julia Halo

Dr. Abbas Heydarnoori

Dr. Hrishikesh Joshi

Dr. HeeSoon Lee

Dr. Monica A. Longmore

Dr. Montana Miller

Dr. Jared S. Rose

Dr. Liangfeng Sun

Dr. Anita Simic Milas

Dr. Rachel Vannatta

Dr. Ben Ward

Dr. Jari Willing

#### Shanklin Award for Research Excellence Finalist Judges

Dr. James Ciesla

Dr. Bill Mathis

Dr. Jennifer Percival

Dr. Ellen Schendel

Dr. Dawn Shinew

Dr. Jennifer Waldron

#### **Shanklin Creative Contest Judges**

EEN STATE

Dr. Barbara Bergstrom

Ms. Marce Dupay

Dr. Radhika Gajjala

Dr. Sidra Lawrence

Ms. Laura A. Sheets

Dr. Michaela Walsh

#### **Graduate Student Senate Award Judges**

Dr. John H. Boman

Dr. Becca Cragin

Dr. Heath Diehl

Dr. Radhika Gajjala

Dr. Melissa Keith

Dr. Marlise R. Lonn

Dr. Sharath Sasidharan

Dr. Kimberly Stanley

Dr. Sara Stiltner