Faculty Affiliates

If you would like to become an affiliate, please fill out the online submission form.

College of Arts and Sciences

Rob Carels, Ph.D. | Psychology
Research Interest: Obesity, Weight Loss Treatment, Barriers to Healthy Lifestyle Changes
rcarels@bgsu.edu  

Yiwei Chen, Ph.D. | Psychology
Research Interest: Development and Aging
ywchen@bgsu.edu

Howard Casey Cromwell, Ph.D. | Psychology
Research Interest: Psychology
hcc@bgsu.edu

Sandra Faulkner, Ph.D. | Media and Communication
Research Interest: Culture and Interpersonal Communication
sandraf@bgsu.edu

Sherona Garrett-Ruffin, Ph.D. | Chapman Learning Community
Research Interest: Mental Health
sgarret@bgsu.edu

Louisa Ha, Ph.D. | Telecommunications
Research Interest: Autism and Media Technology; Social Media and Mobile Media for Parent and Patient Support
louisah@bgsu.edu

Lisa Hanasono, Ph.D. | Media and Communication
Research Interest: Interpersonal Communication
lisakh@bgsu.edu

Steve Jex, Ph.D. | Psychology
Research Interest: Organizational Psychology
sjex@bgsu.edu

Kara Joyner, Ph.D. | Sociology
Research Interest: Social and Family Demographics
kjoyner@bgsu.edu

Neocles B. Leontis, Ph.D. | Chemistry
Research Interest: Biophysical Chemistry
leontis@bgsu.edu

Kate Magsamen-Conrad, Ph.D.  | Media and Communication
Research Interest: Health and Interpersonal Communication
kmagsam@bgsu.edu

Wendy Manning, Ph.D. | Sociology
Research Interest: Cohabitation, Transition to Marriage and Child Well-Being
wmannin@bgsu.edu

Srinivas Melkote, Ph.D.  | Media and Communication
Research Interest: Social Change Communication
melkote@bgsu.edu

William H. O'Brien, Ph.D. | Psychology
Research Interest: Behavioral Medicine; Clinical Psychophysiology; Behavioral Assessment, Behavior Therapy
wobrien@bgsu.edu

Terry Rentner, Ph.D. | Media and Communication
Research Interest: Smoking and Alcohol Abuse Prevention Public Relation Campaign
trentne@bgsu.edu

Harold Rosenberg, Ph.D. | Psychology
Research Interest: Clinical Psychology
hrosenb@bgsu.edu

Catherine H. Stein, Ph.D.  | Psychology
Research Interest: Social Networks and Family Influence
cstein@bgsu.edu

Craig L. Zirbel, Ph.D. | Mathematics and Statistics
Research Interest: Applied Probability and Stochastic Processes
zirbel@bgsu.edu

College of Education and Human Development

Dawn Anderson, Ph.D. | Family and Consumer Sciences
Research Interest: Food Safety
dawna@bgsu.edu

Bonnie G. Berger, Ed.D. | Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
Research Interest: Physical Activity, Mood Alteration, and Stress Management
bberger@bgsu.edu

Nick A. Bowman, Ph.D. | Higher Education
Research Interest: Psychology and Education
nbowman@bgsu.edu

Lynn A. Darby, Ph.D. | Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
Research Interest: Physiological Responses of Obese Individuals to Exercise; Lifetime Fitness
ldarby@bgsu.edu

Christine Haar | Family and Consumer Sciences
Research Interest: Dietetics
chaar@bgsu.edu

Carrie Hamady, M.S. |Family and Consumer Sciences
carrieh@bgsu.edu

Travis Heggie, Ph.D. | Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
Research Interest: Wilderness and Travel Medicine; Epidemiology
theggie@bgsu.edu

K. Todd Keylock, Ph.D. | Kinesiology
Research Interest: Exercise Effects on Immune Function, Aging, Inflammation, and Wounds
tkeyloc@bgsu.edu

Younghee Kim, Ph.D. | Family and Consumer Sciences
Research Interest: Public Health Nutrition
ykim@bgsu.edu

Steve J. Langendorfer, Ph.D. | Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
Research Interest: Physical Education and Motor Development
slangen@bgsu.edu

Bob Lee, Ph.D. | Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
Research Interest: Leisure Studies
bdlee@bgsu.edu

Mary-Jon Ludy, Ph.D., RD | Family and Consumer Sciences
Research Interest: Obesity, College Wellness, and Chili Peppers
mludy@bgsu.edu

Amy L. Morgan, Ph.D. | Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
Research Interest: Exercise and Functional Ability in Aging; Metabolic Markers of Bone Turnover
amorgan@bgsu.edu

Rebecca S. Pobocik, Ph.D. | Family and Consumer Sciences
Research Interest: Community Nutrition, Dietary Assessment, Nutrition for Children
pobocik@bgsu.edu

Julian H. Williford, Jr. (Joe), Ph.D. | Family and Consumer Sciences
Research Interest: Eating Habits of College Students
jwillif@bgsu.edu

College of Health and Human Services

Tim Brackenbury, Ph.D. | Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Interest: Speech-Language Pathology
tbracke@bgsu.edu

Chris Dunn, Ph.D. | Criminal Justice
Research Interest: Family Violence by Multiple Members; Homicide Prevention; HIV/AIDS Prevention
dunncs@bgsu.edu

Christine M.Englebrecht, Ph.D. | Criminal Justice
Research Interest: Victim Acknowledgement and Reporting to the Police
cengleb@bgsu.edu

L. Fleming Fallon, DrPH, MD, Ph.D. | Public and Allied Health
Research Interest: Occupational Medicine; Public Health; Prevention
ffallon@bgsu.edu

John W. Folkins, Ph.D. | Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Interest: Speech and Hearing Sciences
folkins@bgsu.edu

Lynne Hewitt, Ph.D., CCC-SLP | Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Interest: Communicative Disorders
lhewitt@bgsu.edu

Steve Kampf, Ph.D. | Recreation and Wellness
Research Interest: Identification of Problems in Campus Recreation Programs in North America
skampf@bgsu.edu

Miriam Krause, Ph.D., CCC-SLP | Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Interest: Speech-Language-Hearing
miriamk@bgsu.edu

HeeSoon Lee, Ph.D. | Social Work
Research Interest: Coping Strategies, Resilience and Quality of Life Between Aging War Veterans
leeh@bgsu.edu

John Liederbach, Ph.D. | Criminal Justice
Research Interest: Policing and Criminology
jlieder@bgsu.edu

Nancy Orel, Ph.D. | Gerontology | Coordinating Committee Chair
Research Interest: Intergenerational Relationships
norel@bgsu.edu

Ellyn A. Riley, Ph.D. | Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Interest: Linguistic Variables Contributing to Effects of Phonological Complexity; Learning Process After Stroke
eariley@bgsu.edu

Ron Scherer, Ph.D. | Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Interest: Vocal Performance Disorders; Prevention and Therapies; Laryngeal Modeling
ronalds@bgsu.edu

Charles D. Stelle, Ph.D. | Gerontology
Research Interest: Aging and Social Policy
cstelle@bgsu.edu

Philip M. Stinson, Ph.D. | Criminal Justice
Research Interest: Police Crime and Juvenile Delinquency Systems
inspm@bgsu.edu

Wendy Watson, Ph.D. | Gerontology
Research Interest: Intimate Relationaship in Later Life; Dating, Remarriage and Sexuality in Later Life; Sexual Health and Behaviors: HIV Prevention and Education, and Women's Identity Development Across the Lifespan
wwatson@bgsu.edu

Philip Welch, Ph.D., MCHES | Public and Allied Health
Research Interest: Obesity Policy, Employee Wellness and Integration of Public Health and Medicine
pjwelch@bgsu.edu

Faith Yingling, Ph.D. | Recreation and Wellness | Coordinating Committee Chair
Research Interest: Smoking Cessation; Injury Prevention; Eating Disorders
faithy@bgsu.edu

College of Musical Arts

Professional Staff

Sandra Heck | Human Resources
Research Interest: Assisting with Changing and Promoting the Culture of Wellenss at BGSU
skheck@bgsu.edu