Ray Marvin Leadership Award


The C. Raymond Marvin Center for Student Leadership is pleased to announce the 10th annual Ray Marvin Leadership Awards to recognize the leadership contributions of BGSU students. Award recipients will receive a monetary gift ($5000, $4000, or $3,000) based on the assessment of their completed application, supporting materials, and finalist interview.

Who is Ray Marvin?

C. Raymond Marvin is a private investor in the telecommunications field. He graduated from Bowling Green State University in Liberal Arts in 1960 and from the University of Michigan School of Law in 1963.  In 2017, he was awarded an honorary doctorate of liberal arts from Bowling Green State University. 

While a student at BGSU, Ray was a member of SICSIC, Omicron Delta Kappa, Falcon Marching Band, Forensics Team, Student Council, and Phi Delta Theta fraternity. 

Learn more about Ray Marvin

Applications are due March 1, 2021 at 11:59pm.

Award Selection Criteria: BGSU undergraduate students who have completed 30 credit hours are eligible to apply for this award. Candidates will be asked to demonstrate, through their application, how they have developed and demonstrated their leadership while a student at BGSU. All applications will be reviewed and ranked by a committee. Selected candidates will then complete an in-person interview with the selection committee. The Ray Marvin Leadership Awards will recognize students for leadership development and contributions since becoming a student at BGSU.

Student Eligibility: To be eligible for a Ray Marvin Leadership Award, you must meet the following minimum criteria:

* Have completed a minimum of 30 credit hours

* Demonstrate a minimum overall GPA of 2.75

Past Award Finalists


Amy Holthaus
Austin Gilbert
Christopher Carter
Matthew Henkes
Shelbi Lindesmith

2015-2016 winners


Katherine Webb
Austin Flores
Drew Ashby-King
Ebonee Johnson
Jayna Clemens


Alison Brousseau
Jenna Grimes
Kelly Largent
Collin Newton
Leslie Potts
Emily Skibski
Ashlynn Wardle

2014-2015 winners

Scott Brummel
Adriana Darris
Celeste Smith
Jessica Gregor
Darrico Harris
Christian Cash
Gregory Harrison
Bria Johnson
Jarod Rose
Alexa Woodburn

2013-2014 winners

Michael Reilly (1st Place Winner)
Kevin Lewis (2nd Place Winner)
Brandon Swope (3rd Place Winner)
Jodie Brand
Hannah Burkhart
Kassie Cooper
Jessee Hankins
Jennifer Kane
Alex Koons
Corey Smetana


Luke Grabski (1st Place Award Winner)
Meresa McKesson (2nd Place Award Winner)
Samantha Kirsch (3rd Place Award Winner)
Jessica Alt
Adriana Darris
Andrew Hayes
Michael Reilly
Bryant Sheppard

Lauren Purdy (1st Place Award Winner)
Shawn Gilbert (2nd Place Award Winner)
Erin Porter (3rd Place Award Winner)
Michael Reilly
Bryant Sheppard
Cassandra Utt
Nikia Washington

Chrissy Daniel (1st Place Award Winner)
Heather Utsler (2nd Place Award Winner)
Daniel Caldwell (3rd Place Award Winner)
Erin Porter
Brionna Powell
Skyler Rogers
Haleigh Sinkewich