Women of Distinction


The Women of Distinction award honors undergraduate or graduate student, staff members or faculty members with excellence, ingenuity and the ability to overcome barriers that still exist for women. The women selected for this honor represent a diversity of backgrounds, personal characteristics, life experiences and are lifelong advocates for promoting equity for women and girls everywhere. At the ceremony, a panel discussion will be held, allowing the six finalists to share their advice, inspiration, and experience.


Finalists are chosen based on the following criteria:

  • Serve as a role model and/or mentor to other women and girls.
  • Exhibits dedication to empowering women and girls to achieve their goals
  • Demonstrates a commitment to the BGSU mission and encourages others to live up to BGSU’s core values:  respect for one another, cooperation, intellectual and spiritual growth, creative imaginings, and pride in a job well done.
  • Advocates for and reinforces policies, practices, attitudes, and/or actions that are intended to produce equitable outcomes for all while garnishing the respect within the community.
  • Is a leader who has made extraordinary contributions in her communities through their time, talent, and/or resources

Past award recipients

wod 2017

Michaela Schrum
Pempho Chinkondenji
Sara Chambers
Sheila Brown
Keji Kujjo
Maureen Doyle

Dr. Peg Yacobucci
Amanda Dortch
Ebonee Johnson
Christine Seiler
Heather Golden

Dr. Susana Peña
Tess Cardoza
Holly Grunn
Adriana Darris
Claire Austin
Tiffany Mitchell

Dr. Lilani Attygalle
Dr. Kristine Blair
Lashaunda Marie Brown-Clopton
Dr. Cordula Mora
Haley Seeley
Dr. Kacee Ferrell Snyder