Ray Marvin Leadership Award


The Center for Leadership is pleased to announce the 7th annual Ray Marvin Leadership Awards to recognize the leadership contributions of BGSU students. Award recipients will receive a monetary gift ($2,000) based on the assessment of their completed application, supporting materials, and finalist interview.

Who is Ray Marvin?

  • Applications will be available Tuesday, January 10th, 2017 at www.bgsu.edu/RayMarvin.
  • Application deadline is Monday, February 27, 2017. Late applications will not be accepted.
  • Finalist interviews will be conducted in March 2017.
  • Award recipients will be announced at the Applauding Excellence ceremony on Thursday, April 27th.

Award Selection Criteria: All BGSU undergraduate students are eligible to apply for this award. Candidates are asked to demonstrate, through their application, quality academic standards, participation in leadership education experiences, community service planning and participation, and project team membership and leadership. All applications are reviewed and ranked by a committee. Selected candidates then complete an in-person interview with the selection committee. The Ray Marvin Leadership Awards recognizes students for leadership development and contributions from May 2016 to May 2017.

Student Eligibility: To be eligible for a Ray Marvin Leadership Award, students need to meet the following minimum criteria:

  • Enrolled as an undergraduate student at BGSU for Fall 2015 and Spring 2016
  • Demonstrate a minimum overall GPA of 2.5.

Past Award Finalists


Katherine Webb
Austin Flores
Drew Ashby-King
Ebonee Johnson
Jayna Clemens


Alison Brousseau
Jenna Grimes
Kelly Largent
Collin Newton
Leslie Potts
Emily Skibski
Ashlynn Wardle


Scott Brummel
Adriana Darris
Celeste Smith
Jessica Gregor
Darrico Harris
Christian Cash
Gregory Harrison
Bria Johnson
Jarod Rose
Alexa Woodburn

Michael Reilly (1st Place Winner)
Kevin Lewis (2nd Place Winner)
Brandon Swope (3rd Place Winner)
Jodie Brand
Hannah Burkhart
Kassie Cooper
Jessee Hankins
Jennifer Kane
Alex Koons
Corey Smetana

Luke Grabski (1st Place Award Winner)
Meresa McKesson (2nd Place Award Winner)
Samantha Kirsch (3rd Place Award Winner)
Jessica Alt
Adriana Darris
Andrew Hayes
Michael Reilly
Bryant Sheppard

Lauren Purdy (1st Place Award Winner)
Shawn Gilbert (2nd Place Award Winner)
Erin Porter (3rd Place Award Winner)
Michael Reilly
Bryant Sheppard
Cassandra Utt
Nikia Washington

Chrissy Daniel (1st Place Award Winner)
Heather Utsler (2nd Place Award Winner)
Daniel Caldwell (3rd Place Award Winner)
Erin Porter
Brionna Powell
Skyler Rogers
Haleigh Sinkewich

Questions and Additional Information:
Contact the Center for Leadership
301 Bowen-Thompson Student Union